No useful output from Find_orphans.py

Have a MythTV related problem? Ask for help from other MythTV users here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
jmike
Newcomer
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 9:35 pm
United States of America

No useful output from Find_orphans.py

Post by jmike » Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:35 pm

Find_orphans.py used to work fine for me on 0.27 but when I try to use in on 30.0 I get the following:
$ python /usr/share/mythtv/find_orphans.py
Please select from the following
1. Refresh list
>
If I enter a 1 it repeats. Anything other than a 1 is out of range.
System details: Ubuntu 18.04.1, Kernel 5.0.0-37-generic, Mythtv version 30.0, QT version 5.9.5.
Any suggestions?

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1430
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: No useful output from Find_orphans.py

Post by bill6502 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 8:07 pm

Hi,

Works for me in v31-Pre. Do you know that there are orphaned recordings? Otherwise,
that's the normal output, although things like DB backups normally show.

By the way, get in the habit of not using the leading 'python' before the program. The
shebang on the top line of find_orphans.py does that for you (and becomes important
with when v31 is released and python3 is used.) The mode of the file must be set to
executable, of course.

Post Reply