Mythfilldatabase fails to run properly

For discussion of topics specific to MythTV on linux
Post Reply
mollcons
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 10:41 am
Great Britain

Mythfilldatabase fails to run properly

Post by mollcons » Mon Mar 25, 2019 9:36 pm

I have installed MythTV on a Fedora 29 box (new install).
I have configured it to run (in the UK) with Schedules Direct using xmltv.
I now try to run mythfilldatabase (using the user mythtv and running as mythfilldatabase -v system) and get several errors, which I have attempted to resolve using other posts in this forum, but without success.

The first error I see is part way down this log extract and indicates an error code "1":
attachment=0]error.log[/attachment]

What is the problem here, and more importantly, how do I resolve it?
Attachments
error.log
(7.75 KiB) Downloaded 28 times

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 506
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: Mythfilldatabase fails to run properly

Post by wesnewell » Mon Mar 25, 2019 10:58 pm

Typically. the config file is sd.xmltv located at /home/mythtv/.mythtv/sd.xmltv. Yours appears to be looking at /var/lib/mythtv/.mythtv/Mollcons.xmltv. I don't know what's up with that, but suspect that's the problem as that's where you get the error 1 return.
BE/FE-Asrock AB350 Pro AMD Ryzen 3 2200G, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1354
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Mythfilldatabase fails to run properly

Post by bill6502 » Tue Mar 26, 2019 2:38 am

Mollcons is OK if it's the name of the videosource, which appears to be the case from
line 29 of the log. Given that it fails in under a second, maybe the config-file doesn't
point to a proper .xmltv/... file.

Run the failing command in the log without the --quiet switch:

Code: Select all

tv_grab_zz_sdjson --config-file '/var/lib/mythtv/.mythtv/Mollcons.xmltv' --output /tmp/mythv5jXoz
You can even add the --debug switch 'til the failure is found (it gets REALLY noisy when
working properly though.)

Post Reply