Channel icons

Have a MythTV related problem? Ask for help from other MythTV users here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Channel icons

Post by wesnewell » Fri Jul 27, 2018 6:00 am

I've been trying to get channel icons working with no luck at all. Mythtv V29.1. I've got the icons in both ~mythtv/.mythtv/channels and ~/wes/.mythtv/channels. Read the wiki. Even created a Channelicons storage group in the hopes that would work. No such luck. Backend runs as mythtv. FE runs as wes. The icons were downloaded when I switched from standard SD data to json data. Also tried a icon download from BE channel editor. Still I get no icons. This;
http://mythfe0:6544/Guide/GetChannelIcon?ChanId=1331
Gives me this.
XML Parsing Error: not well-formed
Location: http://mythfe0:6544/Guide/GetChannelIcon?ChanId=1331
Line Number 1, Column 40:

other good chanid numbers give me a 404 error.
I'm lost. The icons aren't really important to me but I'd like for it to work and I don't know what I'm doing wrong. Here's the icons files I've got in both dirs.
wes@mythfe0:~/.mythtv/channels$ ls
s101364_h3_aa.png s28708_h3_aa.png s55241_h3_aa.png s81275_h3_aa.png
s101752_h3_aa.png s28711_h3_aa.png s61775_h3_aa.png s82219_h3_aa.png
s102116_h3_aa.png s28717_h3_aa.png s64834_h3_aa.png s82563_h3_aa.png
s102148_h3_aa.png s28719_h3_aa.png s65064_h3_aa.png s86867_h3_aa.png
s10239_h3_aa.png s29058_h3_aa.png s66281_h3_aa.png s89922_h3_aa.png
s10269_h3_aa.png s29328_h3_aa.png s67676_h3_aa.png s89923_h3_aa.png
s104950_h3_aa.png s32356_h3_aa.png s70248_h3_aa.png s90401_h3_aa.png
s106838_h3_aa.png s33652_h3_aa.png s70436_h3_aa.png s91415_h3_aa.png
s11069_h3_aa.png s34169_h3_aa.png s70622_h3_aa.png s91496_h3_aa.png
s11118_h3_aa.png s45813_h3_aa.png s73067_h3_aa.png s92091_h3_aa.png
s14767_h3_aa.png s48990_h3_aa.png s74299_h3_aa.png s93430_h3_aa.png
s18633_h3_aa.png s51307_h3_aa.png s75544_h3_aa.png s97051_h3_aa.png
s19026_h3_aa.png s53098_h3_aa.png s78754_h3_aa.png
s20286_h3_aa.png s54596_h3_aa.png s78851_h3_aa.png
BE/FE-AMD Ryzen 3 2200G, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: Channel icons

Post by wesnewell » Fri Jul 27, 2018 7:02 am

Never mind! Figured it out, but crap, have to assign icon manually in BE channel editor, and I've got 115 channels. Is there and easier way?
BE/FE-AMD Ryzen 3 2200G, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

User avatar
Steve Goodey
Moderator
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 6:30 pm
Location: Colchester, England
Great Britain

Re: Channel icons

Post by Steve Goodey » Fri Jul 27, 2018 8:08 am

Don't think so. Look at the bottom of this page
https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Channel_icons
as to why the icon download fails.
As of 9th February 2018 and earlier this service has blocked direct download of icons in mythtv-setup. Although the downloads appear to work and you will find PNGs in /home/<user>/.mythtv/channels/ they will be approx. 300 bytes in size and upon opening with a text editor will show a forbidden message.

User avatar
paulh
Developer
Posts: 352
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:09 pm
Great Britain

Re: Channel icons

Post by paulh » Fri Jul 27, 2018 5:10 pm

That only applies to channel icons fetched from Lyngsat which many of the XMLTV grabbers use.

Anyone who used the Schedules Direct grabbers even the XMLTV json ones will fetch the channel icons direct from links provided by SD and so don't have the problem mentioned by Steve.

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: Channel icons

Post by wesnewell » Fri Jul 27, 2018 5:11 pm

So why hasn't someone set up a repo for icons that could be downloaded without restrictions? Seems easy enough to do. As it is a lot of the icons from SD aren't even legible in the themes because they use the color black and it conflicts with the screen background color. CBS for instance is a black eye with black lettering, which is invisible on a black background. I just changed them to yellow tp test and it worked fine. I'm no wiz with gimp but that was easy enough to do. Might be real easy with paint or some other app. May be easier to just create new ones.
BE/FE-AMD Ryzen 3 2200G, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

User avatar
Steve Goodey
Moderator
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 6:30 pm
Location: Colchester, England
Great Britain

Re: Channel icons

Post by Steve Goodey » Sun Jul 29, 2018 7:50 pm

At the risk of being shouted at, the frequent answer to the first line of your post is "We await your patch with interest" ;)

Maybe something like this is what you're referring to?
https://gitlab.com/picons/picons/tree/m ... urce/logos
https://jamiej.co.uk/blog/working-picon ... dend-kodi/

User avatar
paulh
Developer
Posts: 352
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:09 pm
Great Britain

Re: Channel icons

Post by paulh » Sun Jul 29, 2018 8:53 pm

The problem of anyone setting up their own channel logo db has always been the legal uncertainty of whether you can copy and redistribute the channel logos since they are nearly always trade marks or whatever of the TV broadcasters. You would probably have to seek permission from each broadcaster to use the channel logos to be sure.

There was someone who did however setup a user updated DB with an API we could have used but I can't find it now, I think it may have been http://thelogodb.com but that just returns a 404 Not Found. Not sure if they run into legal problems or just run out of money to pay for the rather large bandwidth bill I'm guessing.

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: Channel icons

Post by wesnewell » Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:01 pm

After switching to SD json data, all icons for my channel listing were down loaded, and were automatically inserted, but some can't be seen because they are all black, like FOX HD, CBS, etc. icon. Simple enough to change them to another color though, As for a patch to change the default icon download location, I'd have to leave that up to the dev's, But it's nothing to create a permanent repo on github where they could download channel icons without restrictions. I assume that wouldn't be a problem with the networks, even if one used there logo. In the meantime, I've simply changed the colors in them. Like this;
s28719_h3_aa.png
changed from black to red to be visible
s28719_h3_aa.png (1.63 KiB) Viewed 188 times
BE/FE-AMD Ryzen 3 2200G, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: Channel icons

Post by wesnewell » Tue Jul 31, 2018 3:57 pm

Here's a collection of channel icons from SD that weren't visible because they match the black background color of the theme. Extract to /home/mythtv/.mythtv/channels for visible icons in themes with black (or real dark) backgrounds.
channelicons.zip
part 1
(182.15 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
ci2.zip
part 2
(130.62 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
BE/FE-AMD Ryzen 3 2200G, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

User avatar
stuarta
Developer
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 5:13 pm
Great Britain

Re: Channel icons

Post by stuarta » Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:23 pm

wesnewell wrote:
Fri Jul 27, 2018 5:11 pm
So why hasn't someone set up a repo for icons that could be downloaded without restrictions? Seems easy enough to do. As it is a lot of the icons from SD aren't even legible in the themes because they use the color black and it conflicts with the screen background color. CBS for instance is a black eye with black lettering, which is invisible on a black background. I just changed them to yellow tp test and it worked fine. I'm no wiz with gimp but that was easy enough to do. Might be real easy with paint or some other app. May be easier to just create new ones.
That was done by thelogodb.com, we were even going to use them, by they got hit with so many icon downloads that their bandwidth usage went through the roof, and they had to shutdown.

Sadly it's not as simple as it seems.


Regards
Stuart

Post Reply