hdhomerun ERROR: lock no longer held

Have a MythTV related problem? Ask for help from other MythTV users here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
alforddm
Newcomer
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 5:05 pm
United States of America

hdhomerun ERROR: lock no longer held

Post by alforddm » Wed May 02, 2018 11:33 am

I'm running v29-rc1-4-g696806310a
Ubuntu 17.10
hdhomerun HDHR3-US Firmware: 20170930

Mythtv works for a while, several hours usually, and then it stops recording and my logs fill up with this. I've been rebooting my computer to fix it. Any suggestions?

Code: Select all

May  2 06:22:22 daylene-p7-1003w mythbackend: mythbackend[1221]: E HDHRStreamHandler recorders/hdhrstreamhandler.cpp:481 (TunerSet) HDHRSH[3](1036F329-0): DeviceSet(filter 0x0000-0x0001 0x0030 0x0040 0x0050-0x0051 0x0054 0x0060 0x1d00-0x1d03 0x1e00-0x1e03 0x1ffb): ERROR: lock no longer held
May  2 06:22:22 daylene-p7-1003w mythbackend: mythbackend[1221]: E HDHRStreamHandler recorders/hdhrstreamhandler.cpp:481 (TunerSet) HDHRSH[3](1036F329-0): DeviceSet(filter 0x0000-0x0001 0x0030 0x0040 0x0050-0x0051 0x0054 0x0060 0x1d00-0x1d03 0x1e00-0x1e03 0x1ffb): ERROR: lock no longer held
May  2 06:22:22 daylene-p7-1003w mythbackend: mythbackend[1221]: E HDHRStreamHandler recorders/hdhrstreamhandler.cpp:481 (TunerSet) HDHRSH[3](1036F329-0): DeviceSet(filter 0x0000-0x0001 0x0030 0x0040 0x0050-0x0051 0x0054 0x0060 0x1d00-0x1d03 0x1e00-0x1e03 0x1ffb): ERROR: lock no longer held

User avatar
pgbennett
Developer
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 5:41 pm
United States of America

Re: hdhomerun ERROR: lock no longer held

Post by pgbennett » Wed May 02, 2018 4:04 pm

I see you are using a pre-release build of v29. I would recommend getting the latest from fixes/29. I don't know if that will fix the error.

Are there any other errors in the log before these messages start, that may indicate the cause?

alforddm
Newcomer
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 5:05 pm
United States of America

Re: hdhomerun ERROR: lock no longer held

Post by alforddm » Wed May 02, 2018 8:16 pm

If I run

Code: Select all

$ apt-cache policy mythtv
mythtv:
  Installed: 2:29.0+fixes.20170728.696806310a-0ubuntu1
  Candidate: 2:29.0+fixes.20170728.696806310a-0ubuntu1
  Version table:
 *** 2:29.0+fixes.20170728.696806310a-0ubuntu1 500
        500 http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu artful/multiverse amd64 Packages
        500 http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu artful/multiverse i386 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status 
but if I run

Code: Select all

 $ mythbackend --version
Please attach all output as a file in bug reports.
MythTV Version : v29-rc1-4-g696806310a
MythTV Branch : fixes/29
Network Protocol : 91
Library API : 29.20170212-1
QT Version : 5.7.1
Is something wonky there?

I can't find anything else in the logs. Quite a few of these.

Code: Select all

May  1 00:24:02 daylene-p7-1003w mythbackend: mythbackend[1223]: E HDHRStreamHandler recorders/hdhrstreamhandler.cpp:471 (TunerSet) HDHRSH[3](1036F329-0): Set request failed#012#011#011#011eno: Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
And then every once in a while, one of these will be in among everything.

Code: Select all

May  1 04:07:05 daylene-p7-1003w mythbackend: mythbackend[1223]: N Expire autoexpire.cpp:251 (CalcParams) AutoExpire: CalcParams(): Max required Free Space: 12.0 GB w/freq: 14 min

User avatar
pgbennett
Developer
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 5:41 pm
United States of America

Re: hdhomerun ERROR: lock no longer held

Post by pgbennett » Wed May 02, 2018 9:26 pm

Another thing I can suggest is periodically reboot the HDHomerun Prime. I have a ceton eth 6. It has a memory leak that causes a failure after about 6 weeks. I reboot it once a week with a script to avoid that. There may be some command in the hdhomrun utility program to reboot it.

Otherwise I suggest open a ticket so that somebody may look at it.

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1031
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: hdhomerun ERROR: lock no longer held

Post by bill6502 » Wed May 02, 2018 10:45 pm

This is my HDHR info from its web page:

Code: Select all

HDHomeRun Prime Tuner
Model: HDHR3-CC
Firmware: 20130328
I don't do routine boots, but it's a good test to see if it helps your case.

To be clear @alforddm, are there any other users of the HDHR on your
network? Tablets/Kodi/WMC/tvtime...

Can't speak to the policy, but maybe look for other instances of the backend:

Code: Select all

sudo locate -b "\mythbackend.real"  "\mythbackend"

alforddm
Newcomer
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 5:05 pm
United States of America

Re: hdhomerun ERROR: lock no longer held

Post by alforddm » Thu May 03, 2018 12:57 pm

To be clear @alforddm, are there any other users of the HDHR on your
network? Tablets/Kodi/WMC/tvtime...
There "shouldn't" be. I did a trial run of recording via plex but then went back to using mythtv and removed the tuner from the plex ui. I wondered if somehow plex wasn't still grabbing the turners so I completely removed it and after I restarted the computer, the error hasn't reoccurred. It's only been 24 hrs so I don't know if that actually fixed the problem, or if just hasn't reoccurred. I was pleasantly surprised this morning to find it still working.

markk
Newcomer
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 6:35 am
New Zealand

Re: hdhomerun ERROR: lock no longer held

Post by markk » Sat Jun 16, 2018 6:42 am

I've just got a new HDHOMERUN (a second one) as I think (or thought) my Nova-TD500 was faulty. The new homerun is not working from MythTv front end with the same error as above, the very old homerun (with the same firmware) is working fine. From the backend the new one scans channels ok in setup but if you got into the front end turner states window it shows the device has an error

Post Reply