hdhomerun ERROR: lock no longer held

Have a MythTV related problem? Ask for help from other MythTV users here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
alforddm
Newcomer
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 5:05 pm
United States of America

hdhomerun ERROR: lock no longer held

Post by alforddm » Wed May 02, 2018 11:33 am

I'm running v29-rc1-4-g696806310a
Ubuntu 17.10
hdhomerun HDHR3-US Firmware: 20170930

Mythtv works for a while, several hours usually, and then it stops recording and my logs fill up with this. I've been rebooting my computer to fix it. Any suggestions?

Code: Select all

May  2 06:22:22 daylene-p7-1003w mythbackend: mythbackend[1221]: E HDHRStreamHandler recorders/hdhrstreamhandler.cpp:481 (TunerSet) HDHRSH[3](1036F329-0): DeviceSet(filter 0x0000-0x0001 0x0030 0x0040 0x0050-0x0051 0x0054 0x0060 0x1d00-0x1d03 0x1e00-0x1e03 0x1ffb): ERROR: lock no longer held
May  2 06:22:22 daylene-p7-1003w mythbackend: mythbackend[1221]: E HDHRStreamHandler recorders/hdhrstreamhandler.cpp:481 (TunerSet) HDHRSH[3](1036F329-0): DeviceSet(filter 0x0000-0x0001 0x0030 0x0040 0x0050-0x0051 0x0054 0x0060 0x1d00-0x1d03 0x1e00-0x1e03 0x1ffb): ERROR: lock no longer held
May  2 06:22:22 daylene-p7-1003w mythbackend: mythbackend[1221]: E HDHRStreamHandler recorders/hdhrstreamhandler.cpp:481 (TunerSet) HDHRSH[3](1036F329-0): DeviceSet(filter 0x0000-0x0001 0x0030 0x0040 0x0050-0x0051 0x0054 0x0060 0x1d00-0x1d03 0x1e00-0x1e03 0x1ffb): ERROR: lock no longer held

User avatar
pgbennett
Developer
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 5:41 pm
United States of America

Re: hdhomerun ERROR: lock no longer held

Post by pgbennett » Wed May 02, 2018 4:04 pm

I see you are using a pre-release build of v29. I would recommend getting the latest from fixes/29. I don't know if that will fix the error.

Are there any other errors in the log before these messages start, that may indicate the cause?

alforddm
Newcomer
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 5:05 pm
United States of America

Re: hdhomerun ERROR: lock no longer held

Post by alforddm » Wed May 02, 2018 8:16 pm

If I run

Code: Select all

$ apt-cache policy mythtv
mythtv:
  Installed: 2:29.0+fixes.20170728.696806310a-0ubuntu1
  Candidate: 2:29.0+fixes.20170728.696806310a-0ubuntu1
  Version table:
 *** 2:29.0+fixes.20170728.696806310a-0ubuntu1 500
        500 http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu artful/multiverse amd64 Packages
        500 http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu artful/multiverse i386 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status 
but if I run

Code: Select all

 $ mythbackend --version
Please attach all output as a file in bug reports.
MythTV Version : v29-rc1-4-g696806310a
MythTV Branch : fixes/29
Network Protocol : 91
Library API : 29.20170212-1
QT Version : 5.7.1
Is something wonky there?

I can't find anything else in the logs. Quite a few of these.

Code: Select all

May  1 00:24:02 daylene-p7-1003w mythbackend: mythbackend[1223]: E HDHRStreamHandler recorders/hdhrstreamhandler.cpp:471 (TunerSet) HDHRSH[3](1036F329-0): Set request failed#012#011#011#011eno: Resource temporarily unavailable (11)
And then every once in a while, one of these will be in among everything.

Code: Select all

May  1 04:07:05 daylene-p7-1003w mythbackend: mythbackend[1223]: N Expire autoexpire.cpp:251 (CalcParams) AutoExpire: CalcParams(): Max required Free Space: 12.0 GB w/freq: 14 min

User avatar
pgbennett
Developer
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 5:41 pm
United States of America

Re: hdhomerun ERROR: lock no longer held

Post by pgbennett » Wed May 02, 2018 9:26 pm

Another thing I can suggest is periodically reboot the HDHomerun Prime. I have a ceton eth 6. It has a memory leak that causes a failure after about 6 weeks. I reboot it once a week with a script to avoid that. There may be some command in the hdhomrun utility program to reboot it.

Otherwise I suggest open a ticket so that somebody may look at it.

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 981
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: hdhomerun ERROR: lock no longer held

Post by bill6502 » Wed May 02, 2018 10:45 pm

This is my HDHR info from its web page:

Code: Select all

HDHomeRun Prime Tuner
Model: HDHR3-CC
Firmware: 20130328
I don't do routine boots, but it's a good test to see if it helps your case.

To be clear @alforddm, are there any other users of the HDHR on your
network? Tablets/Kodi/WMC/tvtime...

Can't speak to the policy, but maybe look for other instances of the backend:

Code: Select all

sudo locate -b "\mythbackend.real"  "\mythbackend"

alforddm
Newcomer
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 5:05 pm
United States of America

Re: hdhomerun ERROR: lock no longer held

Post by alforddm » Thu May 03, 2018 12:57 pm

To be clear @alforddm, are there any other users of the HDHR on your
network? Tablets/Kodi/WMC/tvtime...
There "shouldn't" be. I did a trial run of recording via plex but then went back to using mythtv and removed the tuner from the plex ui. I wondered if somehow plex wasn't still grabbing the turners so I completely removed it and after I restarted the computer, the error hasn't reoccurred. It's only been 24 hrs so I don't know if that actually fixed the problem, or if just hasn't reoccurred. I was pleasantly surprised this morning to find it still working.

Post Reply