Mouse Cursor Issues

Have a MythTV related problem? Ask for help from other MythTV users here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
toddbailey
Newcomer
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 2:35 pm
United States of America

Mouse Cursor Issues

Post by toddbailey » Tue May 01, 2018 5:54 pm

Hi All
Regardless of the setting in the ui setup page, the mouse cursor hides automatically after a few seconds
This issue has been haunting me for years and it's no longer just an annoyance.

Does any have a fix for this?

Somewhere, In the ui settings, is a check box to automatically hide or not hide the mouse cursor. Regardless of setting, the cursor hides on me.
while this is ok when viewing content, when I am trying to make configuration settings, I need the cursor visible AT ALL TIMES. Since the dev team can't or won't fix, does any one know where in the source code I might find the code function that does this?
Is there another approach to prevent the cursor from doing it's auto hide trick?


thanks

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1113
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Mouse Cursor Issues

Post by bill6502 » Tue May 01, 2018 9:10 pm

Hi,

Seems to work OK, but maybe not as you expected.

If the setting is 1, no cursor is visible, as you know.

If set to 0, then if the mouse is moved, the cursor shows up
for about 4 seconds and then goes away again. As long as
the mouse is being moved, the cursor is on. The help for the
setting says as much, so nothing to fix (although it's out of
my wheelhouse.)

Code: Select all

"Toggles mouse cursor visibility "
"for touchscreens. By default "
"MythTV will auto-hide the cursor "
"if the mouse doesn't move for a "
"period, this setting disables the "
"cursor entirely."
You can use this to start looking at your source if you like:

Code: Select all

git grep --open-files-in-pager=vi HideMouseCursor
Change vi to you your editor, or just omit =vi and your
$PAGER will be used.

toddbailey
Newcomer
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 2:35 pm
United States of America

Re: Mouse Cursor Issues

Post by toddbailey » Tue May 01, 2018 9:58 pm

Not the experience I am having. I also don't have a touch screen.
Once the cursor disappears it's difficult to get the mouse to reappear.
Just moving the mouse doesn't cause the mouse pointer to reappear.
a series of left and right mouse button clicks may trigger a view event but it's very frustration trying to navigate a setup screen with the mouse pointer hidden.
Also, for me A few seconds is far too soon of a time period. perhaps a drop down list box containing entries like never hide, hide after 10, 30 and 60 seconds, or a text box where the user supplies a time period. In any event, I want to modify the code base so that the mouse is always visible or at the very least extend the time out period

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1113
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Mouse Cursor Issues

Post by bill6502 » Tue May 01, 2018 11:23 pm

I did test on a PC, no touch screen. And, I'm running 30-Pre.

Suggest editing the Subject: line in the initial post with your
version (mythbackend --version.)

User avatar
dizygotheca
Developer
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 9:02 am
Great Britain

Re: Mouse Cursor Issues

Post by dizygotheca » Wed May 02, 2018 12:12 am

https://github.com/MythTV/mythtv/blob/m ... .cpp#L1105
https://github.com/MythTV/mythtv/blob/m ... .cpp#L3009

setMouseTracking(true) should start MouseMove events that show the cursor.
You could ramp up the 3 sec timeout or disable the autohide timer.

However it sounds like the real issue is the cursor doesn't appear when you move the mouse.
That could be a 'fussy system' (as per the comments). Or a focus problem, which has cropped up in the past.

Is the behaviour consistent on all screens ?
Does switching focus (Alt-Tab) change anything ?
What OS/Window Manager ?

toddbailey
Newcomer
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 2:35 pm
United States of America

Re: Mouse Cursor Issues

Post by toddbailey » Wed May 02, 2018 3:26 pm

This has been an on going issue for as long as I can remember, as which I switched over to Linux Mint Maya back in 2012. so whatever version of Myth was current then up to present day, should you want to get version specific. if I recall correctly I am currently running something like 0.28fixes on mint 18.3 cinnamon. I'm forced use what version is offered by the package manager so it's a fairly vanilla version. But it sounds like I'll have to create a custom version to fix the issue.

Post Reply