Using channel NAMES instead of CALL SIGNS.

For discussion related to MythTV which doesn't belong in another forum.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
jmetal88
Newcomer
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 4:16 am
United States of America

Using channel NAMES instead of CALL SIGNS.

Post by jmetal88 » Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:30 pm

I can't figure out how to get the MythTV episode guide to use my channel NAMES instead of the CALL SIGNS. I went through the trouble earlier today to give all my broadcast channels human-readable names in the channel editor, and all the names show up there, but the guide only displays the call signs, which are not all that useful. Is there a way to make this change? If not, what is even the point of allowing you to name your channels?

jmetal88
Newcomer
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 4:16 am
United States of America

Re: Using channel NAMES instead of CALL SIGNS.

Post by jmetal88 » Sat Dec 03, 2016 3:48 am

So, I still can't find a way to do this. It's looking like adding the channel names is only of benefit within MythTV Setup, and that the Guide will always only use the call signs. I guess I could try to customize the call signs and see if that doesn't mess anything up...

User avatar
dizygotheca
Developer
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 9:02 am
Great Britain

Re: Using channel NAMES instead of CALL SIGNS.

Post by dizygotheca » Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:37 pm

Is your "Channel Format" set to "name" ?
https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Configuring ... 28Basic.29

jmetal88
Newcomer
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 4:16 am
United States of America

Re: Using channel NAMES instead of CALL SIGNS.

Post by jmetal88 » Sun Dec 04, 2016 9:09 pm

dizygotheca wrote:Is your "Channel Format" set to "name" ?
https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Configuring ... 28Basic.29
That's exactly the setting I was looking for. And no, it was not set to 'name'. Unfortunately, changing it from 'number callsign' to 'number name' didn't change anything in the guide...

jmetal88
Newcomer
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 4:16 am
United States of America

Re: Using channel NAMES instead of CALL SIGNS.

Post by jmetal88 » Sun Dec 04, 2016 9:44 pm

Oh, good grief, it was my THEME that was preventing the names from showing up. I was using the LinHES theme and apparently it ONLY shows the call signs.

Post Reply