Acer Aspire

Moderator: warpme

Post Reply
UKenGB
Junior
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 1:13 pm
Great Britain

Acer Aspire

Post by UKenGB » Thu Sep 17, 2015 1:06 pm

Thought we should move to a new thread for this.

If using an Aspire Revo (R3610) with MM2, is/can the hard disk be removed?

Can they sleep when not in use for faster start than full boot?

Is that under manual control or automatic, or both?

UKenGB
Junior
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 1:13 pm
Great Britain

Re: Acer Aspire

Post by UKenGB » Thu Sep 17, 2015 1:14 pm

Also, when running MM2, is the full multichannel audio output through the HDMI?

I read somewhere that on one box, under linux the HDMI output did not carry audio. Just wanted to confirm this would not be a problem with this box and MM2.

User avatar
warpme
Translator
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:13 pm
Poland

Re: Acer Aspire

Post by warpme » Thu Sep 17, 2015 5:55 pm

UKenGB wrote:Thought we should move to a new thread for this.

If using an Aspire Revo (R3610) with MM2, is/can the hard disk be removed?

Can they sleep when not in use for faster start than full boot?

Is that under manual control or automatic, or both?
Of course.
Key feature of MM2 is diskless operation.
Regarding audio on HDMI. It is fully working.
IIRC ION2 is not supporting only DTS-MA.
2.0, 5.1, 7.1 DD, DTS etc all works well for me.

UKenGB
Junior
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 1:13 pm
Great Britain

Re: Acer Aspire

Post by UKenGB » Fri Sep 18, 2015 8:50 am

So simply remove the HD?

Do they sleep? Automatically? Manually?

What about remote control? Does MM2 allow the same control over IP of MythTV or is it implemented differently in some way?

User avatar
warpme
Translator
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:13 pm
Poland

Re: Acer Aspire

Post by warpme » Fri Sep 18, 2015 9:20 am

Yes. You can simply remove HDD.
Regarding sleep: sleep/resume is default regime for MM2. Target is that You boot it only for update with new image. Normal operation is sleep and resume.
Regarding remote control via IP: You can:
-use telnet to cotrol MythTV
-use VNC to control whole MM2 appliance
br

UKenGB
Junior
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 1:13 pm
Great Britain

Re: Acer Aspire

Post by UKenGB » Fri Sep 18, 2015 9:50 am

I need to integrate remote control via IP into system I use for all devices. I checked and MythTV has this ability. I think there are 2 methods, one being using HTTP and the other its Services API IIRC. This is instead of using an IR remote (I don't know if Aspire has IR port,, but I don't want to use IR).

Anyway, is control of MM2 the same as any other MythTV front end and can take advantage of either of the above.

Post Reply