Android build on Fire TV - opengl produces white screen

clubsoda
Newcomer
Canada

Android build on Fire TV - opengl produces white screen

Post by clubsoda »

Hello,

First, I hope this is the right forum - apologies if it's not!

I've been using myth for a few years and would like to replace my aging ion-based frontend. I was pleasantly surprised to find that an android port of mythfrontend is available. I've been able to successfully build an apk from git master and install it on a couple of devices (a nexus 7 2013, marshmallow and a moto g4 play, nougat). Video playback using opengl works great.

I have tried loading it to my fire tv stick (basic edition) running Fire OS 5.2, which I believe is derived from lollipop. Navigating menus with the qt painter works pretty well with a few minor glitches where menu elements flash white momentarily.

Unlike my other two devices, opengl does not work with the fire stick. Once I enable opengl, the theme background is made fullscreen and I cannot see anything "underneath" it. If I force close mythfrontend and open it back up the following happens:

1) myth displays a white screen for a couple seconds
2) a black screen displays for another second or two
3) the regular main menu flashes quickly
4) a white image overlays the screen

I know myth has not crashed because I can enter live tv if I press OK a few times. I can then hear live tv and can switch channels all while having a completely white image. The nexus and moto g4 also display a white screen at startup when opengl is enabled but it is quickly replaced by the main menu as expected. I have been testing with mythcenter-wide for the most part. Changing themes does not have an impact.

I have been able to get gdb connected to the fire stick but I wasn't sure how to get useful output for this issue.

Thanks in advance for your help and ideas.
gigem
Developer
United States of America

Re: Android build on Fire TV - opengl produces white screen

Post by gigem »