Mythfrontend on a 2016 Sony Bravia Android TV

For discussion of topics specific to MythTV on Android devices
rocknrobin72
Junior
United States of America

Mythfrontend on a 2016 Sony Bravia Android TV

Post by rocknrobin72 »

I recently upgraded to MythTV ver. 32 from ver. 31. I have been using mythtv since 2020 and I love it. I use a Slackware 15.0 distro for the backend and I have been using Kodi on my Sony Bravia TV as a frontend and it has worked great for me as well. After upgrading to ver. 32 on the backend I noticed that Kodi did not work right anymore, I have a version 19.3 on my TV and a ver. 20 on a laptop for testing. Damaged recordings now do not show up in Kodi with yellow lettering if they are damaged and if they are not damaged the majority are showing up with the yellow lettering, but they play fine. I was advised in another forum to try using adb to sideload LeanFront and mythfrontend to my T.V. if for nothing else but to test against Kodi.

I was able to get LeanFront and mythfrontend both loaded to my T.V. and LeanFront works ok because it allows me to manually set the IP address of the backned in the settings menu. As a sidebar It has a couple of drawbacks to it. Firstly if a program shows in yellow on Kodi in my ver. 32 backend it looks like a file folder on the ICON in LeanFront instead of like a regular program ICON and when I try to select it it will not play. Other programs play ok with LeanFront. In addition it does not do commercial skips which I really like and work well in Kodi.