SOLVED: Custom MythTV Menus on Shield TV frontend

For discussion of topics specific to MythTV on Android devices
loddonlily
Junior
Great Britain

SOLVED: Custom MythTV Menus on Shield TV frontend

Post by loddonlily »

So I've been using MythTV for many, many years on a homebrew Linux HTPC ... which is now getting a bit old and is struggling to keep up.

I've just got myself a shiny new TV Shield Pro and am having a lot of fun setting up a new world of consuming TV, including a MythTV frontend connected to my old backend (both v31). Thanks to the wiki, it now mostly works.

My current problem is the menus: on my own HTPC I have a set of custom menu XML files which deliver the experience I want, and I'd really like to replicate that on the Shield.

Can anyone point me towards the easiest way of making this happen? I guess I need to transfer the XML files somewhere ...

[I have already enabled Developer Mode on the Shield, and installed adb on a Linux box - this was how I installed the .apk]
Last edited by loddonlily on Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cbovy
Newcomer
Netherlands

Re: Custom MythTV Menus on Shield TV frontend

Post by cbovy »

In Android Studio there is function to open a file manager (Device File Explorer). You can inspect the files on your Shield, but also upload files.
For example, I have been updating the Mythbuntu theme on the shield by updating the XML, so I expect you can update other XML files as well.
It is probably not the straight-forward option to change/upload files, but it works.

Regards, Charles
loddonlily
Junior
Great Britain

Post by loddonlily »

When you say not the most straightforward - you're not kidding! But I can't get it to work - is it necessary for the Shield to be rooted?