Key binding on Firestick remote

For discussion of topics specific to MythTV on Android devices
Post Reply
cliveb
Junior
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 9:59 am
Great Britain

Key binding on Firestick remote

Post by cliveb » Wed Oct 05, 2022 9:17 am

I recently got a Firestick 4K Max to use as a frontend.
Contrary to jfabernathy's comment that the Max doesn't work properly, it seems to be fine running mythfrontend for me.
(I'm using v31 - not yet updated to v32, so perhaps that makes some difference?)

Anyhow, the reason for this post is to ask if anyone knows a way to reassign some of the Firestick's remote buttons so they can be used in Myth frontend.
The "ring" and centre button work fine, and I've been able to assign the return, menu, rew, play/pause and fwd keys.
But all the other keys (power, alexa, home, mute, vol up/down, liveTV, and the 4 streaming service keys) appear to get intercepted directly by the Firestick so they can't be assigned as Myth key bindings. I can understand why a home button is always needed(!) but it would be nice to be able to remap some of the others while in the mythfrontend app.

Any ideas?

User avatar
jfabernathy
Senior
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 2:37 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
United States of America

Re: Key binding on Firestick remote

Post by jfabernathy » Wed Oct 05, 2022 9:52 am

I've struggle with this also. I use a BT mini remote/keyboard so I can access to all the keys.

https://www.amazon.com/iPazzPort-Blueto ... B08H4K3VB1

User avatar
pgbennett
Developer
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 5:41 pm
United States of America

Re: Key binding on Firestick remote

Post by pgbennett » Fri Oct 07, 2022 7:40 pm

The Power and Volume control keys, including mute, translate to IR signals to the TV so they do not reach the application. As to the NetFilx, Hulu, etc. buttons, I assume these companies pay Amazon a lot of money to put these buttons there and insist that they not be remapped. It is a bit irritating that there are so few buttons.

You can set any key to have a "long press" action. That way the key can be used for two purposes. This is no good for keys where you want repeat action, because long press remove support for repeat action. I set Long Press of the center button to "OSD-Navigation" which is an icon bar of actions during playback.

cliveb
Junior
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 9:59 am
Great Britain

Re: Key binding on Firestick remote

Post by cliveb » Sat Oct 08, 2022 12:11 pm

pgbennett wrote:
Fri Oct 07, 2022 7:40 pm
The Power and Volume control keys, including mute, translate to IR signals to the TV so they do not reach the application.
Thanks. I'm pretty sure they can't actually generate IR signals - my LG TV doesn't have an IR remote, it uses RF.
My guess is that it uses HDMI CEC to send the commands to the TV. In which case, if CEC was disabled on the HDMI input I wonder if it would free up these extra buttons?
pgbennett wrote:
Fri Oct 07, 2022 7:40 pm
You can set any key to have a "long press" action. That way the key can be used for two purposes. This is no good for keys where you want repeat action, because long press remove support for repeat action. I set Long Press of the center button to "OSD-Navigation" which is an icon bar of actions during playback.
Ah, right. Thanks. I'll check that out.

Post Reply