SOLVED (ish): Pi3/MythLight/Stretch 1080i MPEG-2 OTA ATSC Playback Stutters

For discussion of topics specific to MythTV on Raspberry Pi devices
jac1d
Junior
Canada

SOLVED (ish): Pi3/MythLight/Stretch 1080i MPEG-2 OTA ATSC Playback Stutters

Post by jac1d »

Hello everyone,

First a hat tip to Issac and the MythTV team. I realized I have been enjoying MythTV for at least 15 years now.

MY ISSUE: 1080i broadcast sources (stable, very few errors) do not play back smoothly on a Pi3 with MythLight.

PI HARDWARE:
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ awk '/^Revision/ {sub("^1000", "", $3); print $3}' /proc/cpuinfo
a02082

Which Google tells me is:
a02082 Q1 2016 3 Model B 1.2 1 GB (Mfg by Sony)

GPU MEMORY

I've tried 384, 320 and 256. It is now back at 256MB as none of it had any measurable affect.

From /boot/config.txt:
gpu_mem=256

BACKGROUND:

I recently moved and my .29 combined backend/frontend is no longer in the living room so I decided to set up a Raspberry Pi 3 frontend. It went surprisingly well and came together quickly using the MythLight packages referenced on the wiki/MythTV_Light

AUDIO IS PASS-THRU

I have my AC3 passing through to my soundbar over an optical SPDIF cable, and after a bit of tweaking all is well there. The Pi is connected over 100 Mbps Full Duplex ethernet to the closet where the backend is located.

MPEG-2 KEY IS INSTALLED AND CONFIRMED

I have purchased, installed and confirmed the MPEG-2 playback key.

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ !v
vcgencmd codec_enabled MPG2
MPG2=enabled

USING OPENMAX HIGH PROFILE

I have tried both OPENMAX Normal and OPENMAX High. It makes no difference on my system.

GENERAL OPERATION OF MENUS ETC IS OK - PLAYBACK STATS ARE NOT RIGHT