Remote works with irw but not MythTV

Have a MythTV related problem? Ask for help from other MythTV users here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
acuk
Junior
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 12:29 pm
Great Britain

Remote works with irw but not MythTV

Post by acuk » Mon Apr 27, 2015 6:40 pm

Hi, I could really do with some help.
My remote works with irw but not MythTV and although I've been trying things, I haven't been able to get it to work.

With irw it produces output like this:

Code: Select all

000000008001006c 00 KEY_DOWN devinput
My /etc/lirc/lircd.conf file contains entries like this:

Code: Select all

		KEY_DOWN		108
My ~/.mythtv/lircrc which ultimately points to ~/.lirc/mythtv contains entries like this:

Code: Select all

begin
    remote = devinput
    prog = mythtv
    button = KEY_DOWN
    config = Down
    repeat = 0
    delay = 0
end
I've been reading along with this post (viewtopic.php?f=36&t=680&p=3194&hilit=lirc#p3171) which describes the importance of these files agreeing on the button names, but I think everything seems to match for me. Even so, MythTV doesn't respond when i press the down key.
Please help?

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: Remote works with irw but not MythTV

Post by wesnewell » Mon Apr 27, 2015 7:40 pm

Take the remote = devinput out. You also don't need repeat or delay if not needed. I don't even recall the delay - function. It's in none of my lircrc files that I recall. All you really need is this per button.
begin
prog = mythtv
button = <button name>
config = <keypress to send>
end
You do have the mythtv setup for proper useage I assume. Setup>General page 6 LIRC demon socket and proper port. Default has always worked for me.
BE/FE-Asrock AB350 Pro AMD Ryzen 3 2200G, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

User avatar
stuarta
Developer
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 5:13 pm
Great Britain

Re: Remote works with irw but not MythTV

Post by stuarta » Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:27 am

What version of MythTV are you running? There are currently some bugs in master that prohibit lirc from working at all.

acuk
Junior
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 12:29 pm
Great Britain

Re: Remote works with irw but not MythTV

Post by acuk » Wed Apr 29, 2015 5:26 pm

Removing the devinput seemed to make and delay worked for me, thanks

Post Reply