[SOLVED!] Remote client sees wrong copy of database

Have a MythTV related problem? Ask for help from other MythTV users here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
hedgehog52
Junior
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 6:08 pm
United States of America

[SOLVED!] Remote client sees wrong copy of database

Post by hedgehog52 »

I am trying, one more time, to get my second mythtv system going. It is running on a new drive on a second system so there shouldn't have been anything lying around to point it to anything local. I "think" I've got it configured correctly. It does connect to the master server. (Secondary master on that machine is not running.) But it brings up an old copy of the database. I don't know what that copy is named as, or how to access it from the master machine. Before I started this effort, I did a backup so I could be assured of not losing data. And, indeed, I'm looking at the right version of the database on the master machine.

So, what should I be looking at to track this down? I think I have the config.xml files configured the same on both machines, so they point to the "master" server. Well, there is one exception: the line "<LocalHostName>********</LocalHostName>" is different on the client files of both machines.

"mythtv user on master machine"

Code: Select all

<Configuration>
  <Database>
    <PingHost>1</PingHost>
    <Host>192.168.1.109</Host>
    <UserName>mythtv</UserName>
    <Password>mythtv</Password>
    <DatabaseName>mythconverg</DatabaseName>
    <Port>3306</Port>
  </Database>
  <WakeOnLAN>
    <Enabled>0</Enabled>
    <SQLReconnectWaitTime>0</SQLReconnectWaitTime>
    <SQLConnectRetry>5</SQLConnectRetry>
    <Command>echo 'WOLsqlServerCommand not set'</Command>
  </WakeOnLAN>
</Configuration>

"client on master machine"

Code: Select all

<Configuration>
  <LocalHostName>musem</LocalHostName>
  <Database>
    <PingHost>1</PingHost>
    <Host>192.168.1.109</Host>
    <UserName>mythtv</UserName>
    <Password>mythtv</Password>
    <DatabaseName>mythconverg</DatabaseName>
    <Port>3306</Port>
  </Database>
  <WakeOnLAN>
    <Enabled>0</Enabled>
    <SQLReconnectWaitTime>0</SQLReconnectWaitTime>
    <SQLConnectRetry>5</SQLConnectRetry>
    <Command>echo 'WOLsqlServerCommand not set'</Command>
  </WakeOnLAN>
  <UPnP>
    <UDN>
      <MediaRenderer>651c8daa-44c3-41d2-a7ab-543cc5361abe</MediaRenderer>
    </UDN>
  </UPnP>
</Configuration>

"mythtv user on client machine"

Code: Select all

<Configuration>
  <Database>
    <PingHost>1</PingHost>
    <Host>192.168.1.109</Host>
    <UserName>mythtv</UserName>
    <Password>mythtv</Password>
    <DatabaseName>mythconverg</DatabaseName>
    <Port>3306</Port>
  </Database>
  <WakeOnLAN>
    <Enabled>0</Enabled>
    <SQLReconnectWaitTime>0</SQLReconnectWaitTime>
    <SQLConnectRetry>5</SQLConnectRetry>
    <Command>echo 'WOLsqlServerCommand not set'</Command>
  </WakeOnLAN>
</Configuration>
"client user on client machine"

Code: Select all

<Configuration>
  <LocalHostName>wendy</LocalHostName>
  <Database>
    <PingHost>1</PingHost>
    <Host>192.168.1.109</Host>
    <UserName>mythtv</UserName>
    <Password>mythtv</Password>
    <DatabaseName>mythconverg</DatabaseName>
    <Port>3306</Port>
  </Database>
  <WakeOnLAN>
    <Enabled>0</Enabled>
    <SQLReconnectWaitTime>0</SQLReconnectWaitTime>
    <SQLConnectRetry>5</SQLConnectRetry>
    <Command>echo 'WOLsqlServerCommand not set'</Command>
  </WakeOnLAN>
  <UPnP>
    <UDN>
      <MediaRenderer>15ad5d7d-7aaa-4961-a714-ea061fb65803</MediaRenderer>
    </UDN>
  </UPnP>
</Configuration>
Last edited by hedgehog52 on Mon Aug 08, 2022 1:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
paulh
Developer
Posts: 909
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:09 pm
Great Britain

Re: Remote client sees wrong copy of database

Post by paulh »

Not sure exactly what you mean by the client sees wrong copy of database?

If you mean you are seeing one set of setting on the client and you expect to see another then it is likely you are using the wrong <LocalHostName> value.

If it is present in the active config.xml then the LocalHostName value is used as a key for all the settings on the local machine. If it is not then the hostname of the local machine is used as the key.

On the client for user mythtv you don't have a LocalHostName in the config.xml so it will use the actual hostname of the client machine.

For the client user you do have a LocalHostName of "wendy" so that will be used as the key for the settings. So depending on what user is running the frontend you will possibly get two lots of settings. It depend on if the local machine has a hostname of wendy or not.

When you start the frontend the log will say which config.xml is being used and also says something like Using a profile name of: 'wendy' which will tell you which set of settings it is using.

Hope that makes sense and helps you figure out what is wrong :)
hedgehog52
Junior
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 6:08 pm
United States of America

Re: Remote client sees wrong copy of database

Post by hedgehog52 »

Hi paulh,

Some of this is coming back to me: I took a 3 year break from everything and lived on a sailboat. Before I did that, "wendy" was the machine in the living room. I let my granddaughter use it without supervision, and didn't want her to see anything but Childrens stuff. Somehow, I must have limited the recordings she could watch to only those in the "Childrens" recording group. That setting must be stuck in the database. I do not remember what I did. Will I need to rename this machine to something beside "wendy" to get full access, or is there a way to find out how the limitation was done. I vaguely remember something about the PIN, but I could be wrong.
hedgehog52
Junior
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 6:08 pm
United States of America

Re: Remote client sees wrong copy of database

Post by hedgehog52 »

Fixed it!

It turned out that in Setup->Video->Playback->View Recordings->Recording Groups->Default Group Filter to Apply, I had it set to Childrens for the wendy machine. I changed it to "All Programs" and all is well.
Post Reply