Can't get TBS6522 to scan DVBC

Have a MythTV related problem? Ask for help from other MythTV users here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
cuwittrock
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:27 pm
Denmark

Can't get TBS6522 to scan DVBC

Post by cuwittrock » Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:50 pm

Hi,

I have a TBS6522 (DVB-S/S2/S2X/T/T2/C/C2/ISDB-T) card installed and MythTV does recognize the card but only as DVB-T and DVB-S. Any suggestions on how I can get MythTV to select DVB-C?

If I try run "dvblast -f 234000000 -s 6875000 -a 0 -5 dvbc_annex_a" it does show a list of streams. So, driver and HW appears to be working.

Kind regards,
Christian
PS The card works fine under Windows

User avatar
kmdewaal
Developer
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:01 pm
Netherlands

Re: Can't get TBS6522 to scan DVBC

Post by kmdewaal » Sun Aug 02, 2020 9:17 pm

Please have a look at https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Channel_Sca ... figuration

In mythtv-setup Capture Card configuration you have to select a Delivery system. This is by default the first one in the list and for my TBS6528 on frontend0 the default is DVB-T with additional choices DVB-T2, DVB-C/A, ISDBT and DVB-C/B. I expect your TBS6522 to be the same.
N.B. West-European DVB-C is DVB-C/A, short for DVB-C Annex A.

cuwittrock
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:27 pm
Denmark

Re: Can't get TBS6522 to scan DVBC

Post by cuwittrock » Thu Aug 13, 2020 3:54 pm

Hi,
That is the problem, I can't select what delivery system to use. MythTV does not allow me to change the Subtype. It is like it thinks that there is only one system instead of multiple.

User avatar
kmdewaal
Developer
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:01 pm
Netherlands

Re: Can't get TBS6522 to scan DVBC

Post by kmdewaal » Thu Aug 13, 2020 6:20 pm

What is your mythtv version? For the delivery system selection you need version 31 or master.

cuwittrock
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:27 pm
Denmark

Re: Can't get TBS6522 to scan DVBC

Post by cuwittrock » Fri Aug 14, 2020 3:16 pm

You are right. I do have version 30.0

I tried to update but still had version 30.0. I then uninstalled mythtv and then reinstalled but got version 30.0 again! And when I try to update I get told that there are no updates...

I saw no need to pull and build the source but maybe that is what I have to do?

mythbackend --version
Please attach all output as a file in bug reports.
MythTV Version : v30.0
MythTV Branch :
Network Protocol : 91
Library API : 30.20181231-1
QT Version : 5.9.5

User avatar
kmdewaal
Developer
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:01 pm
Netherlands

Re: Can't get TBS6522 to scan DVBC

Post by kmdewaal » Fri Aug 14, 2020 4:00 pm

There are packages for v31 and also for master available, at least for Ubuntu. See https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Installing_MythTV_on_Ubuntu.
This is a history of upgrade on Ubuntu: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=3938 which just might be what you need.

cuwittrock
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:27 pm
Denmark

Re: Can't get TBS6522 to scan DVBC

Post by cuwittrock » Sat Aug 15, 2020 10:38 am

Hi,

Apparently I am not the first one stuck with version 30.0. However I am already running Ubuntu 18.04 and have run sudo apt-get upgrade.

Could be that if I upgrade to 20.04 it will also fix the "stuck at version 30.0" problem. I will probably try to upgrade but that will have wait for a few days. I am puzzled though why I don't get the latest release.

Thank you very much for your time and assistance so far. I hope that you will provide further assistance should I need it.

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: Can't get TBS6522 to scan DVBC

Post by wesnewell » Sat Aug 15, 2020 1:36 pm

V30 was the release for 18.04. You need the V31 ppa to upgrade to v31 if you stay at 18.04. I think a distribution upgrade to 20.04 will automatically upgrade your mythtv to V31 also. You may still need to manually install the V31 ppa to get later updates for it.
BE/FE-Asrock AB350 Pro Ryzen 3 3200G, 6 atsc tuners. FE's-GF8200's Athlon II, Ryzen 3 2200G. Mythtv user since 2005.

cuwittrock
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:27 pm
Denmark

Re: Can't get TBS6522 to scan DVBC

Post by cuwittrock » Sat Sep 19, 2020 8:20 pm

I upgraded to 20.04 but that failed in the process. Don't know why it always fail upgrading from one version to another. Over the time I have tried to update to a new version of Ubuntu 3 times, each failed (first time was updating from 12.04 - as far as I remember). But these problems are irrelevant. So I made a clean install of 20.04 and indeed I was able to get the right version of MythTV. Now I can select the right sub-system. But when I want to scan for channels I get this error message "Unable to open the card". Now I need to find the solution for this problem and then I hope it will work

User avatar
kmdewaal
Developer
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:01 pm
Netherlands

Re: Can't get TBS6522 to scan DVBC

Post by kmdewaal » Sun Sep 20, 2020 9:30 am

Your message can indicate that the card is in use by another program, but it can also be a MythTV problem.
Can you provide the complete log output of mythtv-setup? If possible with lots of debug output, e.g. with the command "mythtv-setup -v most".
It could also be useful to have the output of "dvb-fe-tool" for your card as the TBS6522 might be slightly different from the TBS card I have tested with.

cuwittrock
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:27 pm
Denmark

Re: Can't get TBS6522 to scan DVBC

Post by cuwittrock » Sun Sep 20, 2020 9:13 pm

I have attached the setup log file. Had to compress it though as it is more 160k lines long
dvb-fe-tool reports and error: ERROR FE_READ_STATUS: Resource temporarily unavailable

So, I guess there is something wrong with my card installation.
Attachments
mythtv-setup.log.rar
(243.51 KiB) Downloaded 6 times

User avatar
kmdewaal
Developer
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:01 pm
Netherlands

Re: Can't get TBS6522 to scan DVBC

Post by kmdewaal » Sun Sep 20, 2020 9:41 pm

Can you try doing the scan with modulation system DVB-C/A ?
From the log it shows that you do the scan with modulation system DVB-C/B and this could make a difference.

User avatar
kmdewaal
Developer
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:01 pm
Netherlands

Re: Can't get TBS6522 to scan DVBC

Post by kmdewaal » Mon Sep 21, 2020 5:42 am

Please note that the TBS card can be used with one input at a time. You can configure it to receive anything (DVB-T/C/S/S2/T2 etc) but you need to choose which one you want. For DVB-T/C/T2 you use adapterX/frontend0 and for DVB-S/S2 you use adapterX/frontend1. But use only one frontend.

Post Reply