Upgrading fromV30 to V31

Have a MythTV related problem? Ask for help from other MythTV users here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 649
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Upgrading fromV30 to V31

Post by wesnewell » Sun May 03, 2020 3:53 pm

xubuntu 18.04LTS running mythtv V30, latest updates. Trying to upgrade to V 31.
Change repo to /31. Run software updater. Everything looks good. Check backend. Looks fine at V31.
Try to start frontend from icon. No go. Tries restarting and finally gives up.
Start from CL. Ends in segfault. Note libcec.so.4 doesn't load. Try apt install libcec. Can't find it.
Restore system from backup. Everything works fine on V30 again.
Trying to find libcec and discover it may be included in cec-utils. Haven't tried again yet.
What are the odds it will work if I install the cec-utils.
IIRC, the last full install I did was mythbuntu 14.04 or 16.04. Pretty sure all I did to upgrade them to later versions of mythtv was to change the repo to the next version number.
If libcec is required for the frontend to run shouldn't it be dependancy of mythtv?
Guess I'll load the cec-utils and give it another shot.
.....
Frontend still segfaulted, but libcec loaded. just didn't find any devices.
Backup restored.
BE/FE-Asrock AB350 Pro Ryzen 3 3200G, 6 atsc tuners. FE's-GF8200's Athlon II, Ryzen 3 2200G. Mythtv user since 2005.

User avatar
paulh
Developer
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:09 pm
Great Britain

Re: Upgrading fromV30 to V31

Post by paulh » Sun May 03, 2020 4:34 pm

I think you may be missing libcec4.

I only see the deb packaging has libcec-dev as a build dependency and not libcec4 as runtime dependency so you may be on to something. Wonder why no one has had this problem before?

Let me know if installing libcec4 fixes the problem for you and I will add it to the deb packaging.

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 649
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: Upgrading fromV30 to V31

Post by wesnewell » Sun May 03, 2020 7:11 pm

No, FE still segfaulted, but libcec loaded.. V30 runs fine without it. Here's what loaded.

wes@mythfe0:~$ locate libcec
/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libcec.so.4
/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libcec.so.4.0.2
/usr/share/doc/libcec4
/usr/share/doc/libcec4/changelog.Debian.gz
/usr/share/doc/libcec4/copyright
/var/lib/dpkg/info/libcec4:amd64.list
/var/lib/dpkg/info/libcec4:amd64.md5sums
/var/lib/dpkg/info/libcec4:amd64.shlibs
/var/lib/dpkg/info/libcec4:amd64.symbols
/var/lib/dpkg/info/libcec4:amd64.triggers
BE/FE-Asrock AB350 Pro Ryzen 3 3200G, 6 atsc tuners. FE's-GF8200's Athlon II, Ryzen 3 2200G. Mythtv user since 2005.

User avatar
paulh
Developer
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:09 pm
Great Britain

Re: Upgrading fromV30 to V31

Post by paulh » Mon May 04, 2020 10:59 am

I suspect the libcec thing is a red herring.

Having stale libraries and filters have been known to cause a segfault on startup.

If it's not that then you will have run mythfrontend under gdb and get a backtrace for us to help identify what the problem is. There are Ubuntu specific instructions here although I think they are overly complicated, I prefer to run gdb from the command line like this

Code: Select all

gdb mythfrontend
...
(gdb) run --verbose most
...
wait for it to crash and then type

(gdb) thread apply all bt full
...
copy and paste the full output from gdb here.

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 649
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: Upgrading fromV30 to V31

Post by wesnewell » Mon May 04, 2020 7:29 pm

I'm not going to worry about it right now. Everything runs good on V30. Maybe I'll mess with it this next weekend, or just do a fresh install of 20.04 and see how that goes.
BE/FE-Asrock AB350 Pro Ryzen 3 3200G, 6 atsc tuners. FE's-GF8200's Athlon II, Ryzen 3 2200G. Mythtv user since 2005.

Post Reply