White Box covers most of Screen

Have a MythTV related problem? Ask for help from other MythTV users here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

jjthomas
Junior
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 11:53 am
United States of America

Re: White Box covers most of Screen

Post by jjthomas » Sat May 30, 2020 7:43 am

Same problem with FreeBSD 12.1
I tried shrinking the box, I did not change anything.
I complied from ports. The white box appears when using the gnone and xfce4 desktops.

Code: Select all

(0:35)ROOT@anthem:/root# pkg info mythtv
mythtv-30.0_5,1
Name           : mythtv
Version        : 30.0_5,1
Installed on   : Tue May 26 08:01:17 2020 PDT
Origin         : multimedia/mythtv
Architecture   : FreeBSD:12:amd64
Prefix         : /usr/local
Categories     : multimedia
Licenses       : GPLv2+
Maintainer     : ports@FreeBSD.org
WWW            : http://www.mythtv.org/
Comment        : MythTV is a homebrew PVR project
Options        :
        BINDINGS       : on
        HDHOMERUN      : on
        JACK           : off
        LIRC           : off
        MYSQL          : off
        PULSEAUDIO     : off
        VDPAU          : on
Shared Libs required:
        libQt5WebKit.so.5
        libQt5Gui.so.5
        libfftw3.so.3
        libXext.so.6
        libxcb-shape.so.0
        libxcb-xfixes.so.0
        libfreetype.so.6
        libXv.so.1
        libva-drm.so.2
        libxml2.so.2
        libxcb-shm.so.0
        libQt5Widgets.so.5
        libQt5WebKitWidgets.so.5
        libQt5Sql.so.5
        libfftw3f.so.3
        libQt5OpenGL.so.5
        libexiv2.so.27
        liblzo2.so.2
        libfftw3_threads.so.3
        libxcb.so.1
        libvdpau.so.1
        libsamplerate.so.0
        libva.so.2
        libX11.so.6
        libGL.so.1
        libQt5Core.so.5
        libQt5Xml.so.5
        libQt5DBus.so.5
        libbluray.so.2
        libQt5Network.so.5
        libva-x11.so.2
        libXrandr.so.2
        libXxf86vm.so.1
        libva-glx.so.2
        libass.so.9
        libQt5Script.so.5
        libtag.so.1
        libXinerama.so.1
        libhdhomerun.so
Shared Libs provided:
        libmythavutil.so.56
        libmythavfilter.so.7
        libmythavcodec.so.58
        libmythtv-30.so.30
        libmythprotoserver-30.so.30
        libmythavdevice.so.58
        libmyth-30.so.30
        libmythupnp-30.so.30
        libmythswresample.so.3
        libmythswscale.so.5
        libmythui-30.so.30
        libmythbase-30.so.30
        libmythmetadata-30.so.30
        libmythavformat.so.58
        libmythservicecontracts-30.so.30
        libmythfreemheg-30.so.30
        libmythpostproc.so.55
Annotations    :
        FreeBSD_version: 1201000
        deprecated     : Uses Python 2.7 which is EOLed upstream
        expiration_date: 2020-12-31
Flat size      : 121MiB
Description    :
MythTV is a "Personal Video Recorder", i.e. a computer-based video
recorder.  It supports pausing and rewinding live TV, multiple tuner
cards, hardware or software video compression, onscreen program
guides and a distributed architecture.

MythTV requires tuner drivers which support the V4L standard.
Currently no official FreeBSD driver does so, but the latest version
of a beta version of the cxm driver is available from
http://usleepless.110mb.com/pvrxxx_port-10042007.tgz.  Problems
have been reported with this port; if you use it, you should join
the FreeBSD-multimedia mailing list and report where appropriate.

WWW: http://www.mythtv.org/

(0:37)ROOT@anthem:/root# uname -a
FreeBSD anthem.027esc.net 12.1-RELEASE FreeBSD 12.1-RELEASE r354233 GENERIC  amd64
(0:39)ROOT@anthem:/root#

jjthomas
Junior
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 11:53 am
United States of America

Re: White Box covers most of Screen

Post by jjthomas » Sun Jun 28, 2020 8:01 pm

Has anyone come up with a solution?

Just asking.

-JJ

shmakes
Newcomer
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2020 12:28 am
United States of America

Re: White Box covers most of Screen

Post by shmakes » Mon Sep 21, 2020 12:41 am

For me, editing the file: "~/.mythtv/themes/Mythbuntu/base.xml"
to include the following worked:

Code: Select all

  
	<webbrowser name="basewebbrowser">
		<area>0,0,0,0</area>
	</webbrowser>
This was done under the main tag: <mythuitheme>

I am using:
mythfrontend version: fixes/29 [v29.1-65-g7668cc59ab]
Qt version: compile: 5.13.0, runtime: 5.14.2

Didn't have to upgrade or recompile anything.
Sounds like another option is to update to latest fixes/30 or fixes/31

User avatar
paulh
Developer
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:09 pm
Great Britain

Re: White Box covers most of Screen

Post by paulh » Mon Sep 21, 2020 11:30 am

Modifying base.xml was a hack to verify the bug was being caused by what I thought it was and shouldn't be used on production systems it's not a proper fix it just masks the bug :!:

The fix is to update to a recent version of MythTV that has the bug fix. It's not rocket science honestly :roll: :twisted:

If your distro doesn't have the fix yet then politely ask the package maintainer to update them, if that doesn't work then shout loudly at them for being a dumb ass for using old outdated software and can they please update their broken packages. If that doesn't work then change distros. Simples :lol:

Seriously you just need MythTV 30.0 from around February 11th 2020 or later and all should be good. To be clear the fix is not in 29.0.

jjthomas
Junior
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 11:53 am
United States of America

Re: White Box covers most of Screen

Post by jjthomas » Sat Sep 26, 2020 7:00 am

paulh wrote:
Mon Sep 21, 2020 11:30 am
It's not rocket science honestly...

Seriously you just need MythTV 30.0 from around February 11th 2020 or later and all should be good. To be clear the fix is not in 29.0.
I just installed V30 and I still get the screen-filling white box.

I launched my last rocket some 40 years ago. My rockets went up and came back down like they were supposed to. This won't even get off the ground. This doesn't even go phfft. I don't get the comparison.

Is there a way to get MythTV configured? This is kinda pointless since no one brought a launch pad.

-JJ

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: White Box covers most of Screen

Post by wesnewell » Sat Sep 26, 2020 8:21 am

what version are you running? F1 from main menu. Should be 20200211 or later.
BE/FE-Asrock AB350 Pro Ryzen 3 3200G, 6 atsc tuners. FE's-GF8200's Athlon II, Ryzen 3 2200G. Mythtv user since 2005.

jjthomas
Junior
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 11:53 am
United States of America

Re: White Box covers most of Screen

Post by jjthomas » Sat Sep 26, 2020 12:30 pm

It shows Revision: v30-0-76a78d844cf
Branch: tag: v30.0

Thank you.

-JJ

User avatar
paulh
Developer
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:09 pm
Great Britain

Re: White Box covers most of Screen

Post by paulh » Sat Sep 26, 2020 12:53 pm

That version is from Jan 14, 2019 which is why you don't have the fix. It's actually the very first commit from the v30.0 branch so you don't have any fixes at all that have gone into the v30.0 fixes branch since it was created on that date.

What distro is this?

jjthomas
Junior
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 11:53 am
United States of America

Re: White Box covers most of Screen

Post by jjthomas » Sat Sep 26, 2020 6:26 pm

FreeBSD.

uname -a: FreeBSD anthem.027esc.net 12.1-RELEASE FreeBSD 12.1-RELEASE r354233 GENERIC amd64

User avatar
paulh
Developer
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:09 pm
Great Britain

Re: White Box covers most of Screen

Post by paulh » Sat Sep 26, 2020 9:54 pm

Looks like they are using the v30.0 tagged version from Jan 14 2019 that's not our fault.

I refer you to my previous advice
If your distro doesn't have the fix yet then politely ask the package maintainer to update them, if that doesn't work then shout loudly at them for being a dumb ass for using old outdated software and can they please update their broken packages. If that doesn't work then change distros. Simples :lol:

jjthomas
Junior
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 11:53 am
United States of America

Re: White Box covers most of Screen

Post by jjthomas » Sun Sep 27, 2020 12:14 pm

So FreeBSD and Arch are using your code, and its their faul the code is flawedt? You (MythTV developers) wrote the code, they're just using it. To me it would seem that the person that wrote the flawed code would take the responsibility and fix their code.

The lack of responsibility confused me. If I put out something that didn't work, I would make an effort to fix it, not say it is your fault that you/re using my work.

Why would I throw away a perfectly good OS just because someone is too lazy to fix their flawed code. That concept confuses me even more.

User avatar
paulh
Developer
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:09 pm
Great Britain

Re: White Box covers most of Screen

Post by paulh » Sun Sep 27, 2020 12:25 pm

Like I said earlier the bug was fixed around February 11th 2020 in both MythTV version v30 and MythTV version v31.

If FreeBSD build there packages from more recent source code that has be fix then you will get the fix. I know Arch are already building their packages from more recent source code so they no longer have the bug in their packages.

You need to persuade the FreeBSD package maintainers to use more recent source code that has the bug fix.

jalla
Newcomer
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 9:49 pm
Norway

Re: White Box covers most of Screen

Post by jalla » Mon Sep 28, 2020 2:39 pm

The problem here is that MythTV in FreeBSD currently has no maintainer, so no updates of the package. This is clearly not the fault of the myth-developers as the bug was fixed long ago in the sourcecode. There's a simple fix though. Just download the current myth port, apply the changes from https://code.mythtv.org/trac/changeset/ ... 4c0/mythtv by hand, and recompile. It worked well for me.

jjthomas
Junior
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 11:53 am
United States of America

Re: White Box covers most of Screen

Post by jjthomas » Thu Oct 01, 2020 5:28 am

Thank you for answering. I was not able to find the file mythuiwebbrowser.cpp I complied and installed the file from ports, as well. Suggestions?

-JJ

jalla
Newcomer
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 9:49 pm
Norway

Re: White Box covers most of Screen

Post by jalla » Thu Oct 01, 2020 1:22 pm

If you're at the top of the port, the file is work/mythtv-30.0/mythtv/libs/libmythui/mythuiwebbrowser.cpp

You may use the diff below before rebuilding (the diff pointed to from the original changeset does not apply cleanly to the code).

Code: Select all

--- work/mythtv-30.0/mythtv/libs/libmythui/mythuiwebbrowser.cpp.orig	2019-01-14 12:53:51.000000000 +0100
+++ work/mythtv-30.0/mythtv/libs/libmythui/mythuiwebbrowser.cpp	2020-10-01 12:56:46.631076000 +0200
@@ -861,6 +861,10 @@
  */
 void MythUIWebBrowser::Init(void)
 {
+    // only do the initialisation for widgets not being stored in the global object store
+    if (parent() == GetGlobalObjectStore())
+        return;
+
     if (m_initialized)
         return;
 
@@ -1116,6 +1120,9 @@
  */
 void MythUIWebBrowser::SetActive(bool active)
 {
+    if (!m_browser)
+        return;
+
     if (m_active == active)
         return;
 
@@ -1318,6 +1325,9 @@
 
 void MythUIWebBrowser::Scroll(int dx, int dy)
 {
+    if (!m_browser)
+        return;
+
     QPoint startPos = m_browser->page()->currentFrame()->scrollPosition();
     QPoint endPos = startPos + QPoint(dx, dy);
 
@@ -1427,6 +1437,9 @@
 
 void MythUIWebBrowser::UpdateScrollBars(void)
 {
+    if (!m_browser)
+	return;
+
     QPoint position = m_browser->page()->currentFrame()->scrollPosition();
     if (m_verticalScrollbar)
     {
@@ -1453,7 +1466,7 @@
 {
     UpdateScrollBars();
 
-    if (!m_image)
+    if (!m_image || !m_browser) 
         return;
 
     if (!m_active || (m_active && !m_browser->hasFocus()))
@@ -1472,6 +1485,9 @@
  */
 void MythUIWebBrowser::Pulse(void)
 {
+    if (!m_browser)
+        return;
+
     if (m_scrollAnimation.IsActive() &&
         m_destinationScrollPos !=
         m_browser->page()->currentFrame()->scrollPosition())
@@ -1514,6 +1530,9 @@
  */
 bool MythUIWebBrowser::keyPressEvent(QKeyEvent *event)
 {
+    if (!m_browser)
+        return false;
+
     QStringList actions;
     bool handled = false;
     handled = GetMythMainWindow()->TranslateKeyPress("Browser", event, actions);

Post Reply