[Solved] MythTV 30 HDHomerun capture card missing

Have a MythTV related problem? Ask for help from other MythTV users here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

edmcguirk
Newcomer
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 5:52 pm
United States of America

Re: MythTV 30 HDHomerun capture card missing

Post by edmcguirk » Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:41 am

Blank. No text is returned.

No Grep:

Code: Select all

mythutil --version 
Please attach all output as a file in bug reports.
MythTV Version : v30.0-v30.0-13-g1c2068c62b
MythTV Branch : fixes/30
Network Protocol : 91
Library API : 30.20181231-1
QT Version : 5.11.3
Options compiled in:
 linux profile use_hidesyms using_alsa using_oss using_pulse using_pulseoutput using_backend using_bindings_perl using_bindings_python using_bindings_php using_crystalhd using_dvb using_firewire using_frontend using_vbox using_ceton using_hdpvr using_ivtv using_joystick_menu using_libcec using_libcrypto using_libdns_sd using_libfftw3 using_libxml2 using_lirc using_mheg using_opengl using_opengl_video using_opengl_themepainter using_qtwebkit using_qtscript using_qtdbus using_taglib using_v4l2 using_x11 using_xnvctrl using_xnvctrl_external using_libbluray_external using_xrandr using_xv using_profiletype using_systemd_notify using_systemd_journal using_bindings_perl using_bindings_python using_bindings_php using_freetype2 using_mythtranscode using_opengl using_vaapi using_vaapi2 using_vdpau using_ffmpeg_threads using_mheg using_libass using_libxml2 using_libmp3lame

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: MythTV 30 HDHomerun capture card missing

Post by bill6502 » Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:51 am

Your MythTV was either built with --disable-hdhomerun passed to configure, or
the libhdhomerun-dev weren't installed when it was built.

Is your MythTV installation a package from Ubuntu, or are you building from source?

edmcguirk
Newcomer
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 5:52 pm
United States of America

Re: MythTV 30 HDHomerun capture card missing

Post by edmcguirk » Wed Jun 05, 2019 3:01 am

I am using the standard ubuntu defaults. Sudo apt install mythtv. And I did not see any references to MythTV when I upgraded from 18.10 to 19.4.

In the other thread viewtopic.php?f=36&t=3041 a bug report was referenced where I read comments like this:
Richard 2019-03-07 22:10:02 CET
Packages are built already and just need to be pushed to testing or stable, which I have already requested.
But that was back in March. I would have thought it would be all cleaned up by now.
Last edited by edmcguirk on Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.

edmcguirk
Newcomer
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 5:52 pm
United States of America

Re: MythTV 30 HDHomerun capture card missing

Post by edmcguirk » Wed Jun 05, 2019 3:09 am

I am not sure I recall exactly correctly but I believe I wiped out and re-installed MythTV when I upgraded from 17.10 to 18.4. I think I was pleasantly surprised when I did not have to fiddle with MythTV when I upgraded from 18.4 to 18.10.

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: MythTV 30 HDHomerun capture card missing

Post by bill6502 » Wed Jun 05, 2019 3:42 am

I believe you want to install a MythTV ppa. See this thread: viewtopic.php?p=15088

There are others like it that explain how to add the ppa. I build from source, so I'm nowhere near a good source.

Best guess is that you're running on an early version that wasn't built to include the HDHR.

The ppa should allow proper updates.

edmcguirk
Newcomer
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 5:52 pm
United States of America

Re: MythTV 30 HDHomerun capture card missing

Post by edmcguirk » Wed Jun 05, 2019 4:47 am

I suspected that would be the solution in my original post. I just didn't know what PPA to add. (apparently someone did not update the default ubuntu repository)

That allowed me to select HDHomerun tuner cards but the new tuner groups confuse me a little. I have a pair of two channel HDHomerun boxes. I selected what I thought should be typical options but they show up as a single "Input 17:4 errored" message on the front end Input Status display.

I will have to fiddle with it tomorrow to see if I still actually have a problem or just a slight misconfiguration.
Last edited by edmcguirk on Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

edmcguirk
Newcomer
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 5:52 pm
United States of America

Re: MythTV 30 HDHomerun capture card missing

Post by edmcguirk » Wed Jun 05, 2019 5:40 am

As a quick test I reduced all the HDHomerun settings to minimum. One card, one recordable channel, etc. I successfully scanned channels but the frontend now sees "Input 17:1 errored". Is there some manual I can read to tell me the preferred Capture Card and Input Connections settings?

edmcguirk
Newcomer
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 5:52 pm
United States of America

Re: MythTV 30 HDHomerun capture card missing

Post by edmcguirk » Wed Jun 05, 2019 5:58 am

Nevermind.

Rebooting the PC solved the frontend problem.

Then I went back and added the second HDHomerun box and added in a few subchannels. The changes showed up as errors on the front end but the old settings still worked. I rebooted again and all the changes worked.

So, adding the PPA brought back the ability to select HDHomerun tuner cards but actually implementing the HDHomerun configuration seems to need a reboot. (I believe running the Backend Setup already restarts MythTV, so that's not enough by itself)

ncp1113
Newcomer
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2019 7:55 pm
United States of America

Re: MythTV 30 HDHomerun capture card missing

Post by ncp1113 » Thu Aug 22, 2019 8:20 pm

I am using Debian Buster. I built version 30 from source. The HD Homerun cards that used to be listed are not in the list of capture cards. HD-PVR H.264 encoder is. I formatted the output of --version to make it easier to read. I see using_hdpvr in the list.
So how do I configure version 30 show the HDHomerun cards?

MythTV Version : v30.0-69-g5cde0578d8
MythTV Branch : fixes/30
Network Protocol : 91
Library API : 30.20181231-1
QT Version : 5.11.3
Options compiled in:
linux
profile
use_hidesyms
using_alsa
using_oss
using_pulse
using_pulseoutput
using_backend
using_bindings_perl
using_bindings_python
using_bindings_php
using_dvb
using_firewire
using_frontend
using_vbox
using_ceton
using_hdpvr
using_ivtv
using_joystick_menu
using_libcec
using_libcrypto
using_libdns_sd
using_libfftw3
using_libxml2
using_lirc
using_mheg
using_opengl
using_opengl_video
using_opengl_themepainter
using_qtwebkit
using_qtscript
using_qtdbus
using_taglib
using_v4l2
using_x11
using_xnvctrl
using_xnvctrl_external
using_libbluray_external
using_xrandr
using_xv
using_profiletype
using_bindings_perl
using_bindings_python
using_bindings_php
using_freetype2
using_mythtranscode
using_opengl
using_vaapi
using_vaapi2
using_vdpau
using_ffmpeg_threads
using_mheg
using_libass
using_libxml2

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: MythTV 30 HDHomerun capture card missing

Post by bill6502 » Thu Aug 22, 2019 8:37 pm

Hi,

using_hdhomerun is what's required. I have libhdhomerun-dev and libhdhomerun4
and build from source (*buntu user.)

ncp1113
Newcomer
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2019 7:55 pm
United States of America

Re: MythTV 30 HDHomerun capture card missing

Post by ncp1113 » Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:00 pm

Thanks. I don't know how to get it to compile with using_hdhomerun. I thought it might not have put that in because this was a new computer and I did not have the hdhomerun libraries. So I installed them. BTW for anyone doing that with Debian, you have to install python-gtk2-dev to get the hdhomeurn to install. After installing hdhomerun, I reinstalled mythtv from source. HDHomerun is still not on the list of capture cards. The output from configure says
HDHomeRun support no
I tried attaching the output from configure and make but even after breaking up the files they are too large to attach.

Here is the output for input supports
# Input Support
Joystick menu yes
lirc support yes
libCEC device support yes [/usr/include]
Video4Linux support yes
ivtv support yes
HD-PVR support yes
FireWire support yes
DVB support yes [/usr/include]
DVB-S2 support yes
HDHomeRun support no
V@Box TV Gateway support yes
Ceton support yes
DVEO ASI support no

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: MythTV 30 HDHomerun capture card missing

Post by bill6502 » Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:15 pm

Hmmm, ./configure isn't detecting the libraries. Can you double check like this:

Code: Select all

$ dpkg -l libhdhomerun4 libhdhomerun-dev 
Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
| Status=Not/Inst/Conf-files/Unpacked/halF-conf/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
|/ Err?=(none)/Reinst-required (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
||/ Name                Version      Architecture Description
+++-===================-============-============-===============================================
ii  libhdhomerun-dev    20180817-1   amd64        Development library for Silicon Dust HD HomeRun
ii  libhdhomerun4:amd64 20180817-1   amd64        Library for Silicon Dust HD HomeRun

ncp1113
Newcomer
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2019 7:55 pm
United States of America

Re: MythTV 30 HDHomerun capture card missing

Post by ncp1113 » Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:26 pm

$ dpkg -l libhdhomerun4 libhdhomerun-dev
dpkg-query: no packages found matching libhdhomerun4
dpkg-query: no packages found matching libhdhomerun-dev

So I will try to find why they are not found

ncp1113
Newcomer
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2019 7:55 pm
United States of America

Re: MythTV 30 HDHomerun capture card missing

Post by ncp1113 » Fri Aug 23, 2019 3:07 pm

I installed from source using https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Build_from_Source
Those packages are not on the list of dependencies. So I
$ sudo apt install libhdhomerun4
$ sudo apt install libhdhomerun-dev
and then ./configure on mythtv
and I got
/usr/bin/ld: ../../libs/libmythtv/libmythtv-30.so: undefined reference to `HDHomeRunConfigurationGroup::staticMetaObject'
/usr/bin/ld: ../../libs/libmythtv/libmythtv-30.so: undefined reference to `vtable for HDHomeRunConfigurationGroup'
/usr/bin/ld: ../../libs/libmythtv/libmythtv-30.so: undefined reference to `vtable for HDHomeRunDeviceID'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: MythTV 30 HDHomerun capture card missing

Post by bill6502 » Fri Aug 23, 2019 3:33 pm

If the loader errors above are firing during/after ./configure (as opposed to make)
I'd suggest doing a make distclean and then running ./configure again.

Are there traces of the old libhdhomerun in your source/mythtv/mythtv/external? Mine are long gone.

Not so sure why the libraries aren't in the Wiki, they are in the ansible playbook. It could be
that the author felt that they're optional.

Post Reply