HDHomeRun with mythtv .30

Have a MythTV related problem? Ask for help from other MythTV users here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
boomhauer
Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2019 4:12 pm
United States of America

HDHomeRun with mythtv .30

Post by boomhauer » Sun Apr 21, 2019 4:17 pm

I am trying to build a new htpc using mythtv and a hdhomerun prime how with the new version when setting up a capture card I do not have the option of a HDhomerun networked tuner as I did in mythtv .29. Was this option removed or have I done something wrong. Thanks

User avatar
paulh
Developer
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:09 pm
Great Britain

Re: HDHomeRun with mythtv .30

Post by paulh » Mon Apr 22, 2019 2:05 pm

In previous versions we used our own copy of the HDHomerun library but from 30.0 onwards we use the system installed library. So first thing to look for is the library installed, it will called something like libhdhomerun or libhdhomerun4.

Gribnif
Junior
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 12:46 pm
United States of America

Re: HDHomeRun with mythtv .30

Post by Gribnif » Mon Apr 22, 2019 5:16 pm

It's also worth noting that, if you compile your own copy of MythTV from source, you will need the "-devel" HDHomerun package, as well. Having just the library isn't enough for the configure script to enable this feature when compiling.

boomhauer
Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2019 4:12 pm
United States of America

Re: HDHomeRun with mythtv .30

Post by boomhauer » Mon Apr 22, 2019 10:05 pm

Ok I ran ldconfig -p | grep hdhomerun and got libhdhomerun so 4 ( ,x86-64) => lib x86_64-linux-gnu libhdhomerun so 4, I have both hfhomerun-config and hdhomerun-config-gui. I am using ubuntu 19.04 I can do most things in Linux but I am feeling a little dumb atm. Everything I find on the internet seems to be for mythtv .29 can someone give me a direction to go or at least a hammer to maybe knock some knowledge loose.

User avatar
paulh
Developer
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:09 pm
Great Britain

Re: HDHomeRun with mythtv .30

Post by paulh » Mon Apr 22, 2019 10:50 pm

To add an HDHomerun you would have to
* start mythtv-setup
* select 2. Capture cards.
* select (New capture card)
* move to the 'New capture card' entry that appears at the bottom of the list
* Press right arrow then press enter which shows a list of card types you can choose.
* Choose HDHomeRun networked tuner from the list
* Press right arrow again to configure the new tuner

boomhauer
Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2019 4:12 pm
United States of America

Re: HDHomeRun with mythtv .30

Post by boomhauer » Tue Apr 23, 2019 12:09 am

HDhomerun does not show up in the list in mythtv version .30 your instructions work great for .29 or older or maybe im missing something I tried loading up a working .29 version of the database and then upgrading it the info is still in the database but does not show up in mythtv-setup. guess I will just install ubuntu 18 lts since it install mythtv .29 until I can figure out what I am not doing. Thanks for all the help

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1730
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: HDHomeRun with mythtv .30

Post by bill6502 » Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:57 am

Let's see if mythtv-setup (which should represent everything myth) was built with the library in place:

Code: Select all

mythtv-setup --version|grep --color=always using_hdhomerun
ldd /usr/local/bin/mythtv-setup | grep -i homerun
On my 18.04 and 19.04 boxes it works fine (although I'm on v31-Pre
right now.) Expect to see using_hdhomerun in the --version output.

I also build from source, so it's not a perfect comparison.

User avatar
paulh
Developer
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:09 pm
Great Britain

Re: HDHomeRun with mythtv .30

Post by paulh » Tue Apr 23, 2019 11:00 am

There was a period when the Ubuntu packages was missing the HDHomeRun support because the dev package was missing from the build dependencies. Looks like that was fixed on 25 January 2019 for the fixes/30 builds so anything newer than that should be good.

boomhauer
Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2019 4:12 pm
United States of America

Re: HDHomeRun with mythtv .30

Post by boomhauer » Wed Apr 24, 2019 3:39 pm

this is beating me up a little my mythtv-setup is in /usr/bin/ When I can find some time I guess I will try and download the source and compile it myself. Thanks for all the guidance much appreciated

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1730
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: HDHomeRun with mythtv .30

Post by bill6502 » Wed Apr 24, 2019 5:11 pm

To be clear, when building from source, the default location of the objects is
in /usr/local/bin. Distributions usually put them in /usr/bin. I didn't mean to suggest
that /usr/bin is incorrect.

User avatar
paulh
Developer
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:09 pm
Great Britain

Re: HDHomeRun with mythtv .30

Post by paulh » Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:58 pm

If you are using the Ubuntu packages there should be no need to compile from source.

You may need to switch to the fixes/30 ppa provided by the Mythbuntu guys to get newer packages though.

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:mythbuntu/30

boomhauer
Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2019 4:12 pm
United States of America

Re: HDHomeRun with mythtv .30

Post by boomhauer » Fri Apr 26, 2019 8:12 pm

Awsome add-apt-repo did it is now working thanks so much

Post Reply