Can't play video files

Have a MythTV related problem? Ask for help from other MythTV users here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 550
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Can't play video files

Post by wesnewell » Mon Jun 23, 2014 7:18 pm

TV payback Failed to open remote file myth://videos@.....
I've tried both internal player and vlc. Both with same results. Tried changing hostname,. etc. and everything I can think of. I'm not a novice. Been running mythtv since 2005. System is main server with BE and FE and 2 other fe only machines all running 0.27.1 BE and FE's. No problem playing recordings, music, or images. Videos, recordings, and images all on raid drive, but try them on default /var/lib/mythtv/videos to with same error. I'm lost. I'm work on the main server machine, but get same error on all. Anyone else having this problem, or have I just gone brain dead?
BE/FE-Asrock AB350 Pro AMD Ryzen 3 2200G, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 550
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: Can't play video files

Post by wesnewell » Fri Jun 27, 2014 8:01 am

More info on problem. Anyone?

Jun 27 02:51:54 mythfe0 mythfrontend.real: mythfrontend[19975]: I VideoScanner videoscan.cpp:164 (run) Beginning Video Scan.
Jun 27 02:51:54 mythfe0 mythfrontend.real: mythfrontend[19975]: I VideoScanner videoscan.cpp:393 (buildFileList) buildFileList directory = myth://Videos@mythfe0/raid/videos/
Jun 27 02:51:54 mythfe0 mythfrontend.real: mythfrontend[19975]: I VideoScanner dirscan.cpp:256 (ScanVideoDirectory) MythVideo::ScanVideoDirectory Scanning Group (myth://Videos@mythfe0/raid/videos/)
Jun 27 02:53:25 mythfe0 mythfrontend.real: mythfrontend[19975]: N CoreContext mythmainwindow.cpp:2727 (PauseIdleTimer) Suspending idle timer
Jun 27 02:53:25 mythfe0 mythfrontend.real: mythfrontend[19975]: I CoreContext tv_play.cpp:1058 (TV) TV: Creating TV object
Jun 27 02:53:25 mythfe0 mythfrontend.real: mythfrontend[19975]: N CoreContext mythmainwindow.cpp:2727 (PauseIdleTimer) Suspending idle timer
Jun 27 02:53:25 mythfe0 mythfrontend.real: mythfrontend[19975]: I CoreContext tv_play.cpp:1275 (Init) TV: Created TvPlayWindow.
Jun 27 02:53:25 mythfe0 mythfrontend.real: mythfrontend[19975]: I CoreContext tv_play.cpp:2201 (HandleStateChange) TV: Attempting to change from None to WatchingVideo
Jun 27 02:53:25 mythfe0 mythfrontend.real: mythfrontend[19975]: E CoreContext mythcorecontext.cpp:889 (GetBackendServerIP) No address defined for host:
Jun 27 02:53:25 mythfe0 mythfrontend.real: mythfrontend[19975]: E CoreContext mythsocket.cpp:398 (ConnectToHost) MythSocket(2d039b0:-1): Unable to lookup:
Jun 27 02:53:25 mythfe0 mythfrontend.real: mythfrontend[19975]: E CoreContext remotefile.cpp:134 (openSocket) RemoteFile::openSocket(control socket): Could not connect to server :6543
Jun 27 02:53:25 mythfe0 mythfrontend.real: mythfrontend[19975]: E CoreContext fileringbuffer.cpp:362 (OpenFile) FileRingBuf(myth://Videos@[FE80::221:97FF:FEDF:AFA9%eth0]:6543/FILE0001.MOV): RingBuffer::RingBuffer(): Failed to open remote file (myth://Videos@[FE80::221:97FF:FEDF:AFA9%eth0]:6543/FILE0001.MOV)
Jun 27 02:53:25 mythfe0 mythfrontend.real: mythfrontend[19975]: I CoreContext tv_play.cpp:2550 (HandleStateChange) TV: Main UI disabled.
BE/FE-Asrock AB350 Pro AMD Ryzen 3 2200G, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1463
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Can't play video files

Post by bill6502 » Sat Jun 28, 2014 4:18 pm

Hi,
Jun 27 02:53:25 mythfe0 mythfrontend.real: mythfrontend[19975]: E CoreContext mythcorecontext.cpp:889 (GetBackendServerIP) No address defined for host:
The above is bad. I'd fire up mythtv-setup and look at your IP addresses.
There was fairly recent activity in their setup. Later in the log an IPv6
Link Local addressed is being used. Perhaps that field is empty, you
could try ::1 there just as a test.

User avatar
rwagner
Developer
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 11:37 pm
United States of America

Re: Can't play video files

Post by rwagner » Sat Jun 28, 2014 6:30 pm

Actually, it appears it is trying to connect to nothing. The name of the host should be listed after the colon.

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 550
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: Can't play video files

Post by wesnewell » Sat Jun 28, 2014 10:38 pm

wes@mythfe0:~$ hostname
mythfe0
wes@mythfe0:~$
It does find the dir and list the files, it just won't play them. The IPV6 address is correct so I don't know what's happening.
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:21:97:df:af:a9
inet addr:192.168.1.190 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::221:97ff:fedf:afa9/64 Scope:Link
I hate just trying things at this point. I changed 127.0.1.1 mythfe0 to 192.161.1.190 mythfe0 in /etc/host and it really scewed the pooch. And nothing worked when I changed it back and rebooted. had to add this the get it going again.
wes@mythfe0:~$ cat /etc/mysql/conf.d/mythtv.cnf
[mysqld]
bind-address = 0.0.0.0
wes@mythfe0:~$
But I'll try the default ipv6 address in BE setup and hope it doesn't hose me again.
BE/FE-Asrock AB350 Pro AMD Ryzen 3 2200G, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 550
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: Can't play video files

Post by wesnewell » Sat Jun 28, 2014 10:52 pm

Well that did it. Switching from real ipv6 address to :: (no 1) did it. Don't know why it won't work with the real address though. Guess I don't care at this point though. Now if I can get seek to work properly I'll be happy. BTW, thanks a bunch.
BE/FE-Asrock AB350 Pro AMD Ryzen 3 2200G, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

User avatar
jyavenard
Developer
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:19 am
Australia

Re: Can't play video files

Post by jyavenard » Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:55 pm

using myth >= 0.27.3 would likely have solved your ipv6 related problems.

if you want to disable IPv6 in myth, kick mythtv-setup and in the general settings, set the IPv6 address to "", the empty entry.. save. done.

no more ipv6

Post Reply