Unable to scan over the air with Hauppauge QuadHD ATSC

Have a MythTV related problem? Ask for help from other MythTV users here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
daniel.lee.kruse
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 7:33 pm
United States of America

Unable to scan over the air with Hauppauge QuadHD ATSC

Post by daniel.lee.kruse » Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:56 am

Hauppauge QuadHD
Debian 9 (Stretch)
MythTV 29

Hello,

I have been attempting to diagnose this issue for a few weekends now. During the MythTV backend setup when attempting to do an over-the-air scan, the channels that are detected always report time out, no channels.

I found in one of the forum posts on mythtv.org to do a channel scan with w-scan. The two attached tim-mythtv text files are the results of two different versions of w-scan. They find the signal frequency, but there's no channel listings. The attached media01-mythtv.txt w-scan output does list the channels. media01 is MythTV 0.27 with two Hauppauge 2250 cards on Debian 7 (Wheezy).

I was going to attach the kern.log and dmesg contents, but there is a three attachment limit.

Is MythTV using w-scan, or an in-house written scanner?
Is there a bug with the over-the-air channel scanner?
Am I doing something incorrectly?
What am I not doing that needs to be done?

Is there anyone in the USA using the Hauppague QuadHD with MythTV with scanned in over-the-air channels successfully?

Thanks,
Daniel
Attachments
media01-mythtv.txt
w-scan results from the Debian Whezy respository with MyTV 0.27 and two Hauppauge 2250 cards.
(5.01 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
tim-mythtv2.txt
The latest w-scan results from wirbel-htpc-forum.de with Hauppauge QuadHD.
(4.51 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
tim-mythtv.txt
w-scan results that is in the Debian Stretch repository with Hauppauge QuadHD.
(4.29 KiB) Downloaded 8 times

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: Unable to scan over the air with Hauppauge QuadHD ATSC

Post by wesnewell » Mon Aug 28, 2017 5:35 pm

Found this on tuner. Kernel version?
Pros: Very good receiver sensitivity
Works well in a MythTV backend under Linux
4 receivers on one card -- nice value and needs only one slot
Low profile card for compact PVRs

Cons: No direct Hauppauge support for Linux
Requires Linux 4.9+ kernel, so many distros are not PnP. yet
Myth setup can be arduous, but it will work with persistence
Device driver does not recover from sleep
Backend-GF8200A, AMD Phenom II 805, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

daniel.lee.kruse
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 7:33 pm
United States of America

Re: Unable to scan over the air with Hauppauge QuadHD ATSC

Post by daniel.lee.kruse » Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:49 am

Thanks for the response.

Debian 9 is based on the 4.9 kernel.

I haven't run into this timeout, no channels issue on any of the previous Hauppauge PCI/PCI-e based cards. When I ran into this issue I'm thinking how do I solve this. Searching the web only turned up mentions of w-scan which has the same (or similar) issue as MythTV 29. I haven't found the correct combination of words for the web search (Google, Duckduckgo, etc.) that matches my situation. Am I the first one attempting to set up MythTV 29 on Debian 9 with a Hauppague QuadHD ATSC card?

What I may do is try Debian testing which is based on 4.12. Or I could try another Linux distribution to see if it's an issue with Debian 9.

daniel.lee.kruse
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 7:33 pm
United States of America

Re: Unable to scan over the air with Hauppauge QuadHD ATSC

Post by daniel.lee.kruse » Wed Sep 06, 2017 4:41 am

I installed Fedora 26 which installed with 4.11 and upgraded 4.12. I installed w_scan and ran the scan. The results are the same as the tim-mythtv.txt and tim-mythtv2.txt.
Windows 10 and WinTV 8 works. May have to go this route for this television series until I can figure out what is going on.

MikeB2013
Senior
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2016 4:16 pm
Great Britain

Re: Unable to scan over the air with Hauppauge QuadHD ATSC

Post by MikeB2013 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 2:56 pm

Are there any messages in the output from dmesg command relating to missing firmware (dmesg | grep -i fw) or frontends (dmesg | grep -i frontend)

I recently purchased the DVB-T/T2 version of Hauppauge WinTV Quad HD tuner, and it works almost out of the box, on Lubuntu 16.04 (4.10 series kernel) and Debian 9 Stretch (4.9 series kernel) on built from source mythtv 30-pre (which is pretty much the same as mythtv 29 as of writing).

In my case, two firmware files (dvb-demod-si2168-02.fw and dvb-demod-si2168-b40-01.fw ) were needed in /lib/firmware/

With no firmware files errors like below will been seen output from dmesg, (dmesg | grep -i fw) even though the frontends are created.
[ 56.176391] si2168 5-0064: Direct firmware load for dvb-demod-si2168-b40-01.fw failed with error -2
[ 56.176618] si2168 5-0064: Direct firmware load for dvb-demod-si2168-02.fw failed with error -2
[ 56.176619] si2168 5-0064: firmware file 'dvb-demod-si2168-02.fw' not found
[ 56.181594] si2157 6-0060: found a 'Silicon Labs Si2157-A30'
[ 56.230771] si2157 6-0060: firmware version: 3.0.5
[ 56.234855] si2168 5-0064: Direct firmware load for dvb-demod-si2168-02.fw failed with error -2
[ 56.234861] si2168 5-0064: Direct firmware load for dvb-demod-si2168-02.fw failed with error -2
[ 56.234862] si2168 5-0064: firmware file 'dvb-demod-si2168-02.fw' not found

dmesg output for frontends (dmesg|grep -i frontend)
[ 12.753353] cx23885: cx23885_dvb_register() allocating 1 frontend(s)
[ 12.766024] cx23885 0000:04:00.0: DVB: registering adapter 0 frontend 0 (Silicon Labs Si2168)...
[ 12.766348] cx23885: cx23885_dvb_register() allocating 1 frontend(s)
[ 12.773229] cx23885 0000:04:00.0: DVB: registering adapter 1 frontend 0 (Silicon Labs Si2168)...
[ 13.115955] cx23885: cx23885_dvb_register() allocating 1 frontend(s)
[ 13.123563] cx23885 0000:05:00.0: DVB: registering adapter 2 frontend 0 (Silicon Labs Si2168)...
[ 13.123837] cx23885: cx23885_dvb_register() allocating 1 frontend(s)
[ 13.131365] cx23885 0000:05:00.0: DVB: registering adapter 3 frontend 0 (Silicon Labs Si2168)...

The only things I did in configuring mythtv using mythtv-setup was to :
a) change signal and tuning timeouts from 1000 and 3000 to 7000 and 10000 respectively and unchecked Open DVB card on demand in Capture Cards
b) change Max Recordings (default is 1, maximum is 10, I set mine to 5) in Input connections Interactions Between Inputs

Mike

daniel.lee.kruse
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 7:33 pm
United States of America

Re: Unable to scan over the air with Hauppauge QuadHD ATSC

Post by daniel.lee.kruse » Fri Sep 22, 2017 3:57 am

Thank you for the reply, Mike.

grep -i fw didn't have any matches.
dlk01@dlk01:~$ grep -i fw tim-dmesg-cx23885.txt
dlk01@dlk01:~$

grep -i frontend produced:
dlk01@dlk01:~$ grep -i frontend tim-dmesg-cx23885.txt
[ 2.847983] cx23885_dvb_register() allocating 1 frontend(s)
[ 2.895940] cx23885 0000:04:00.0: DVB: registering adapter 0 frontend 0 (LG Electronics LGDT3306A VSB/QAM Frontend)...
[ 2.898021] cx23885_dvb_register() allocating 1 frontend(s)
[ 2.907020] cx23885 0000:04:00.0: DVB: registering adapter 1 frontend 0 (LG Electronics LGDT3306A VSB/QAM Frontend)...
[ 3.247664] cx23885_dvb_register() allocating 1 frontend(s)
[ 3.254951] cx23885 0000:05:00.0: DVB: registering adapter 2 frontend 0 (LG Electronics LGDT3306A VSB/QAM Frontend)...
[ 3.256498] cx23885_dvb_register() allocating 1 frontend(s)
[ 3.263673] cx23885 0000:05:00.0: DVB: registering adapter 3 frontend 0 (LG Electronics LGDT3306A VSB/QAM Frontend)...
dlk01@dlk01:~$

I left the defaults as-is. I'll keep your setting in mind when I get back around attempting to get it working.

As an aside, I had attempted Debian testing (Buster) + deb-multimedia.org with its MythTV targeting Buster. That didn't work either. I may have to consider building MythTV from source instead of using deb-multimedia.org.

I'm glad the Hauppauge QuadHd DVB-T/T2 is working for you!

MikeB2013
Senior
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2016 4:16 pm
Great Britain

Re: Unable to scan over the air with Hauppauge QuadHD ATSC

Post by MikeB2013 » Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:39 pm

I doubt building mythtv from source will help. I only mentioned it as it was the configuration I ran my tests on.

Mythtv uses the standard linux API (V4L) calls, which means that the drivers built into the kernel are used.
It is these drivers that need to be updated. From my recent tests, no distribution Ubuntu kernel has the latest patches from Hauppauge. It takes time (sometimes very long) for these to be included in V4L subsystem, which are then included in the kernel distribution. You can build the latest V4L subsystem and install, it may have enough patches, but I don't think it has all of them, see https://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/ ... ce_Drivers

Hauppauge do provide updated kernels for some Ubuntu versions, via a ppa, unfortunately Ubuntu 16.04 LTS (HWE) is not one of them. The latest Hauppauge support is for Ubuntu 17.04. For details see https://github.com/b-rad-NDi/Ubuntu-med ... el-builder

I did a quick test on Lubuntu 17.04 which has mythtv 0.28 (older version - not kept up to date with latest fixes), by adding the Hauppauge ppa (details in the README on github, note they forgot to include the instruction to also do "sudo apt install linux-firmware-hauppauge" which is only needed by some Hauppauge devices). It works for my QuadHD card. However it installs a slightly out of date kernel. Mythtv can be updated to the latest version easily by adding the mythbuntu ppa see https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Installing_MythTV_on_Ubuntu
Note for the current mythtv version 29 use the 0.29 ppa at this time (if you are upgrading from mythtv 0.28 use sudo apt dist-upgrade instead of sudo apt upgrade)

I also tried out the Hauppauge ppa on a Lubuntu 16.04 LTS (HWE) build. Again it works, but installs a very old kernel (4.4 series). I have no idea what this does for security and compatibility. You also have to adjust grub to get this kernel to boot by default.

The Haupaugge ppa does not work on the daily build of Lubuntu 17.10 due to apt disabling updates from the ppa (no Release file).

So if you want to try I would go for Lubuntu 17.04 including adding the Hauppauge ppa.

Mike

Post Reply