Cannot scan channels on a VMware guest

Have a MythTV related problem? Ask for help from other MythTV users here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
cmaske
Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 3:08 pm
United States of America

Cannot scan channels on a VMware guest

Post by cmaske » Sat Jun 10, 2017 3:39 pm

I recently converted from a physical machine to a virtual machine to reduce my hardware footprint. Everything is setup and the card is seen. When I go to scan channels it says either says timed out no channels or timed out no signal. I'm currently receiving 100% signal strength. I am running off an antenna on the roof of my house. I tested it on my TV and it works fine. Could this have something to do with me using PCI passthrough for my tuner? The card I am using is a HAUPPAUGE WinTV-quadHD PCI Express TV Tuner Card 1609. I am also running kernel version 4.10 in order to be able to use the tuner. I was previously running kernel version 4.9 RC4 on my physical backend.

Here is my ESXi host specs

AMD A10-5800K CPU
16GB of memory
Gigabyte motherboard
10Gbps Intel 540XT Network Card
VMware ESXi 6.5 attached to vCenter 6.5

Any help or guidance would be appreciated.

maff
Junior
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 9:50 pm
Great Britain

Re: Cannot scan channels on a VMware guest

Post by maff » Mon Jun 12, 2017 12:56 pm

Have you tried scanning from something other than mythtv?

Worth installing w_scan and giving that a whirl from the terminal, would help narrow down whether it's a mythtv thing or a hardware/drivers thing.

cmaske
Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 3:08 pm
United States of America

Re: Cannot scan channels on a VMware guest

Post by cmaske » Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:32 pm

I ran w_scan and it locked on to several channels in my area. I need to figure out why mythtv is not able to lock onto the channels. I will have to go through the backend logs to see if I can get more data.

mlab
Newcomer
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:28 pm
Canada

Re: Cannot scan channels on a VMware guest

Post by mlab » Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:51 pm

Did anyone find a fix for this problem?

I seem to be having the same issue. I am using a Haupaugee WinTv QuadHD card (ATSC version) on an IBM X3650 M3 server running VMWare ESXi 6.5 with all the latest updates installed as of December 19th. My Mythbackend (tried versions 28 and 29) instance is running on a VM with a Debian 9 installation which comes by default with the 4.9 kernel required by the tuner card.

If I try doing the scan with Debian natively installed on the same computer then all Channels are found successfully so it cannot be an antenna, hardware or OS issue.

On the VM, I notice there is a signal lock on the channels that should be found, however no channels get detected.

Any help would be appreciated.

Post Reply