Tuner using incorrect frequency/multiplex UK

Have a MythTV related problem? Ask for help from other MythTV users here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
smee204
Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 10:12 am
Great Britain

Tuner using incorrect frequency/multiplex UK

Post by smee204 » Sun May 22, 2016 10:34 am

Mythtv: 0.28
UK
Freeview DVB-T - HDHomeRun Connect tuner

I have done a full scan on my mythtv box and it picked up some channels from several different transmitters.
For example it picked up the channel 'E4' on freqid 54 (738MHz) and freqid 40 (626MHz).

I want it to use freqid 54 as this has signal strength 100% whereas freqid 40 has 75%, so I deleted the channel on freqid 40. However I find when recording on this channel it is using the wrong multiplex/frequency, my HDHomeRun is reporting recording on 626MHz at 75% signal strength.

I have had a look in the database and both the E4 channels are using the same multiplex.
Channel Table
E4 freqid = 40, mplexid = 206
E4 freqid = 54, mplexid = 206

dtv_multiplex Table
mplexid = 206, frequency = 626000000

This seems like a bug to me. How can freqid 40 and 54 both be on the same multiplex?

User avatar
dekarl
Developer
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 11:01 pm
Germany

Re: Tuner using incorrect frequency/multiplex UK

Post by dekarl » Mon May 23, 2016 7:45 am

Yes, this appears to be a bug.

To configure a DVB-T setup that can receive multiple networks/transmitters but should only receive from one it is easiest to pick one transport of the preferred site and manually scan it, then learn the other transports of that site only from this transport. But never scan over the whole frequency spectrum finding all transports of unrelated sites/networks.

swampy
Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2015 9:36 pm
Great Britain

Re: Tuner using incorrect frequency/multiplex UK

Post by swampy » Fri May 27, 2016 6:38 am

Try http://www.digitaluk.co.uk/ put post code in AND TICK DETAILED VIEW
It will show/estimate you your strongest Transmitter with all th corresponding Muxes (frequencies eg ch50, 6 to 8 of them eg Crystal palace muxes are 23 25 26 28 29 30 33 35) It will also show you the weaker transmitter further down the list so you can see the muxes you dont want.Old school method is to full tune and pull aerial out for weaker muxes and plug back in for stronger (have to be relatively quick)Manual Tune option on the tune menu is safer once you have transmitter (mux details)frequencies

smee204
Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 10:12 am
Great Britain

Re: Tuner using incorrect frequency/multiplex UK

Post by smee204 » Tue May 31, 2016 6:12 pm

Thanks I will give that a go!

Post Reply