(SOLVED)"NO DATA" on many channel listings in mythweb, but not frontend

Have a MythTV related problem? Ask for help from other MythTV users here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
yawlhoo
Junior
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 4:18 pm
United States of America

(SOLVED)"NO DATA" on many channel listings in mythweb, but not frontend

Post by yawlhoo » Fri May 22, 2020 10:30 pm

mythweb is useful as a kind of swiss army knife tool to view status, what's recording, what's been recorded or will be, etc.

Recently I've been finding that its program schedule listings have "NO DATA" for many channels. Yet the frontend's program guide happily shows listings for those same channels.

Presumably the mythweb listings are the result of a php query of the listing database, but how to troubleshoot it?
Last edited by yawlhoo on Sun May 24, 2020 2:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

yawlhoo
Junior
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 4:18 pm
United States of America

Re: "NO DATA" on many channel listings in mythweb, but not frontend

Post by yawlhoo » Sun May 24, 2020 6:13 am

It seems that my system is simply mis-configured. But, I have been around and around and around in the MythTV guide "XMLTV":

https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/XMLTV

to no effect.

It says:

"I recommend that you ... make sure there are no recordings scheduled for the near future before starting."

Indeed. Because you are going to be at this for a while!

yawlhoo
Junior
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 4:18 pm
United States of America

Re: (SOLVED)"NO DATA" on many channel listings in mythweb, but not frontend

Post by yawlhoo » Sun May 24, 2020 3:04 pm

I believe I have found the problem. It is disturbing that it involves such a tiny change, which leads to such profound effects.

In my Antenna.xmltv file, the correct first line is:

database=/home/mythtv/.xmltv/SchedulesDirect.DB

but my misconfigured Antenna.xmltv had the user directory:

database=/home/user/.xmltv/SchedulesDirect.DB

that leads to a LOT of problems.

I realize that mythtv configuration is supposed to be done as user mythtv, not as the ordinary user.

However, this is difficult for me, as I need to ssh to my backend, setting X forwarding, to access mythtv-setup. This works as user, but not as user mythtv. So there is a built-in booby trap, a problem for this booby.

Post Reply