Replacement MCE Remote

Do you want advice about what hardware to buy for use with MythTV? Ask here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
kbocek
Senior
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 4:42 pm
United States of America

Replacement MCE Remote

Post by kbocek » Thu May 13, 2021 7:03 pm

So the remote I've been using for years is no longer made. I've been looking for a good multi-function replacement. I just bought a Phillips but in Microsoft mode it doesn't transmit *anything* from the colored buttons. I need the colored buttons.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

kbocek
Senior
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 4:42 pm
United States of America

Re: Replacement MCE Remote

Post by kbocek » Thu May 13, 2021 7:08 pm


gedakc
Junior
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2014 1:28 am
Canada

Re: Replacement MCE Remote

Post by gedakc » Thu May 13, 2021 7:17 pm

A search for "mce remote control" on aliexpress.com yields a number of remote controls that have the colored buttons.

I bought and use this MCE Remote, and just used the IR receiver from my old Mediagate MCE remote control. Note that delivery can take a month or two.

kbocek
Senior
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 4:42 pm
United States of America

Re: Replacement MCE Remote

Post by kbocek » Thu May 13, 2021 7:39 pm

I can't see if that's a multi-function remote

gedakc
Junior
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2014 1:28 am
Canada

Re: Replacement MCE Remote

Post by gedakc » Thu May 13, 2021 9:56 pm

I'm not sure what you mean by "multi-function" remote.

The remote I listed above is an MCE RC6 Infra-Red remote. I use it exclusively with MythTV and Kodi. I have used both lirc and ir-keytable to map the buttons to key presses.

kbocek
Senior
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 4:42 pm
United States of America

Re: Replacement MCE Remote

Post by kbocek » Thu May 13, 2021 10:27 pm

I mean I need to control my TV, receiver and occasionally my DVD player too. I don't want an MCE only remote.

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 731
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: Replacement MCE Remote

Post by wesnewell » Fri May 14, 2021 4:40 am

I use a JP1 remote. That way i can program anything I want on it.
BE/FE-Asrock AB350 Pro Ryzen 3 3200G, 6 atsc tuners. FE's-GF8200's Athlon II, Ryzen 3 2200G. Mythtv user since 2005.

kbocek
Senior
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 4:42 pm
United States of America

Re: Replacement MCE Remote

Post by kbocek » Thu May 20, 2021 10:07 pm

Darn it! Tried a GE remote:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000246UEE?ps ... ct_details

Same thing. In Microsoft mode, the colored buttons send nothing! Grrr! Now the programming sheet is *exactly* the same as the Phillips remote. So I think they share electronics.

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 731
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: Replacement MCE Remote

Post by wesnewell » Fri May 21, 2021 4:37 am

Get a JP1 remote, a programing cable, and program whatever you it it to do. This might help.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload ... le_id=6153
Screenshot_2021-05-21_06-44-04.png
Screenshot_2021-05-21_06-44-04.png (144.51 KiB) Viewed 2282 times
BE/FE-Asrock AB350 Pro Ryzen 3 3200G, 6 atsc tuners. FE's-GF8200's Athlon II, Ryzen 3 2200G. Mythtv user since 2005.

mtbdrew
Junior
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 1:10 pm
United States of America

Re: Replacement MCE Remote

Post by mtbdrew » Tue May 25, 2021 9:23 pm

I just recently had to change my Lenovo remote. I found this one which works off a usb dongle or Bluetooth:

http://www.riitek.com/product/i4.html

Post Reply