Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Do you want advice about what hardware to buy for use with MythTV? Ask here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Shyru
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 1:44 pm
Germany

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by Shyru » Thu Jan 01, 2015 5:38 pm

So I got my Digibit R1 and tried to hook it up with mythtv. (It works fine with VLC and my DLNA-compatible SmartTV).
Unfortunately I had not much luck. After having found out the playlist-format (by reading the source of HLSReader and M3U) i threw together a small php-script that generates a compatible playlist on the fly. With this I got really close, but could not get a fronted to "LiveTV" a stream from the box. It looks like there is no data arriving in the reader. (It always says "Reading 0 of 0 bytes").

Here is the used meta-playlist: https://gist.github.com/Shyru/f5573dcd9 ... aylist-m3u
And here the used m3u8-playlist for the channel 101: https://gist.github.com/Shyru/f5573dcd9 ... ylist-m3u8
And this is the log-output from mythbackend: https://gist.github.com/Shyru/f5573dcd9d48555a143e

I'm using mythubuntu with mythtv v0.27-193-g8ee257c.
Has anyone got a clue what could be wrong? I tried to load the stream url from the log with wget and it worked (endless download) and vlc played it happily. So the Digibit R1 seems to work correctly. But what goes wrong in the HLS code that recording does not work? Is there anything that I missed?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

User avatar
dekarl
Developer
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 11:01 pm
Germany

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by dekarl » Fri Jan 02, 2015 8:46 am

We don't (yet) support MPEG2TS over HTTP, a patch is available but needs testing/review, see #12168.
Then adjust your main playlist to look like this, without fake m3u8 playlists.

Code: Select all

#EXTM3U
#EXTINF:0,101 - Das Erste
http://192.168.100.82/?src=1&freq=11837&sr=27500&pol=h&msys=dvbs&pids=0,100,101,102,103,106
If you need to specify the service_id, because of missing PAT rewrite, you can add

Code: Select all

#EXTM3U
#EXTINF:0,101 - Das Erste
#EXTVLCOPT:program=28106
http://192.168.100.82/?src=1&freq=11837&sr=27500&pol=h&msys=dvbs&pids=0,100,101,102,103,106
between the #EXTINF and the URL line, see #11487.

Shyru
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 1:44 pm
Germany

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by Shyru » Sun Jan 18, 2015 12:47 pm

So I got around to try the mentioned patch from https://code.mythtv.org/trac/ticket/12168 in current 0.27/fixes. Combined with the changes to the playlist as you suggested I got it to work for the channel "Das Erste". But only by manually entering the service-id 28106 in the database or by applying the unified diff of this commit https://code.mythtv.org/trac/changeset/ ... 3af/mythtv and rescanning the playlist. However trying out Das Erste HD (which has Service-ID 10301) did not work. I got the following log output:

Code: Select all

2015-01-18 13:34:24.552554 E  DTVSigMon[1](): Program #10301 not found in PAT!
Program Association Section
 PSIP tableID(0x0) length(37) extension(0x44d)
      version(3) current(1) section(0) last_section(0)
      tsid(1101) programCount(7)
  program number     0 has PID 0x0010
  program number 28106 has PID 0x0064
  program number 28107 has PID 0x00c8
  program number 28108 has PID 0x012c
  program number 28110 has PID 0x01f4
  program number 28111 has PID 0x0258
  program number 28113 has PID 0x0320
 
2015-01-18 13:34:25.030160 E  MPEGStream[1](0x7f64f401a340): ProcessPAT: Program not found in PAT. Rescan your transports.
2015-01-18 13:34:25.030175 E  MPEGStream[1](0x7f64f401a340): Desired program #10301 not found in PAT.
                        Cannot create single program PAT.
I remember reading something about problems with transports with only one service, but currently cannot remember where exactly. How can this error be fixed?

User avatar
dekarl
Developer
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 11:01 pm
Germany

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by dekarl » Sun Jan 18, 2015 5:21 pm

Shyru wrote:However trying out Das Erste HD (which has Service-ID 10301) did not work. I got the following log output:
It appears as if you edited the URL by hand, setting service_id and PIDs, but didn't change the frequency, symbol rate and modulation system to the other transponder. So you ended up looking for a service from transponder B on transponder A.
E.g.
http://192.168.100.82/?src=1&freq=[b]11 ... ,5101,5106
(that example is an untested educated guess only, i don't know how to signal DVB-S2 etc)

Shyru
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 1:44 pm
Germany

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by Shyru » Mon Jan 19, 2015 6:12 pm

Sorry, I omitted the log line before the ones I posted:

Code: Select all

2015-01-18 13:34:24.313399 I  Loaded [data]http://192.168.100.82/?src=1&freq=11494&sr=22000&pol=h&msys=dvbs2&pids=0,5100,5101,5102,5103,5106[fectype][fec0][fec1] for 1001
So it seems like it loaded the correct url. I just also rechecked and loaded the URL in VLC and it worked flawlessly. So to me this currently looks like missing functionality or a bug. Any hints?

caelor
Newcomer
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 4:25 pm
Great Britain

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by caelor » Tue Jan 20, 2015 5:50 pm

I also have a SatIP server (Triax TSS400 in the UK, although the channels list on the device is for Germany, not the Astra 28.2 constellation that I receive). I made the same amount of progress in that I could generate an M3U for the channels (which would play fine in VLC), but then stumbled due to the lack of MPEG2TS over HTTP support.

I came across https://github.com/catalinii/minisatip today, which claims to be a SatIP server that exposes a Linux DVB device - it might be useful as a dev reference. An alternative approach seems to be trying to connect the SatIP device using vtuner - https://code.google.com/p/satip/ claims to do that, although I've not got it compiling cleanly yet.

I did take a look at the code with a view to developing a SatIP recorder - it looked like there'd need to be a reasonable amount of refactoring of the current DVB driver, to allow elements of it to be common regardless of whether the underlying device is network based or local DVB - I suspect it would be too ambitious a project for a beginner on the codebase (especially one like me without a background in C++). Implementing MPEG2TS over HTTP would probably be a lot easier (but would still need care around the HLS code). I think a dedicated recorder type would be needed to take advantage of Multirec, and definitely would for channel scanning (which you need if the channel list on the device is incorrect).

As a gotcha for anyone who does attempt it - the "pids=all" element of the spec does not appear to work for my device - it passes no data unless you specify a definitive list of PIDs.

In the short term, a work around may be set up VLC to relay the stream from HTTP to RTP as an on-demand feed.

User avatar
stuarta
Developer
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 5:13 pm
Great Britain

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by stuarta » Wed Jan 21, 2015 2:11 pm

Thanks for those excellent links. https://github.com/catalinii/minisatip implements a server to expose your dvb cards, something i was already thinking of doing. It needs some work, as it does not appear to implement any of the upnp based discovery and identification parts of SAT>IP, which is kinda fundamental, but apart from that it's a great starting point

Cheers
Stuart

caelor
Newcomer
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 4:25 pm
Great Britain

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by caelor » Sun Jan 25, 2015 7:28 am

I've made some progress with getting the satip/vtuner solution working (on Ubuntu 14.10). My notes are in this gist (against Ubuntu 14.10), if it helps someone as an interim: https://gist.github.com/caelor/f8c514d2807f171eafdb

So far I've only tested using the scan command, so I can't confirm it works properly within Myth. The dvb-utils scan command does seem to work properly though, so I'm hopeful that it has a good chance of working with Myth.

Update: Having now tried setting up a slave backend for this, you can scan for channels successfully, but the vtunerc driver always reports a zero signal strength, and so Myth never detects a tuning lock.

wurststulle
Newcomer
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:38 am
Germany

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by wurststulle » Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:39 am

is there any progress on this?

User avatar
dekarl
Developer
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 11:01 pm
Germany

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by dekarl » Thu Oct 22, 2015 2:19 pm

wurststulle wrote:is there any progress on this?
It depends on what you want to do.

Recording via the M3U Playlist and HTTP works on master. (see #12168) The HTTP recorder part has not yet been ported to fixes/0.27 but is available in devel/027candidates for testing. Just needs someone to find the time and test it (with channel changing in LiveTV) so it can be merged.
Also recording via the M3U playlist and RTSP/RTP should work on master and fixes/0.27.

As far as I know no work has been done towards a proper SAT>IP recorder with SSDP autodiscovery, DiSEqC configuration, channel scan, etc.

anstein
Newcomer
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 10:16 pm
Germany

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by anstein » Wed Mar 16, 2016 10:23 pm

FYI: SAT>IP can be used the same way directly connected DVB hardware can be used. Tune and request the required PIDs. No actual need for M3U list and such. Scanning is possible too. Actually I'm using a Digital Devices Octopus NET Rack SAT>IP device providing 6xDVB-S2 and 2xDVB-T with MythTV. To be able to do so I had to write proper 'middleware' in form of a CUSE based virtual DVB device daemon. You can find the code at https://github.com/not1337/libsatip
If you want to play with this stuff, other example applications including a SAT>IP server are available, too.

User avatar
peper03
Developer
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 4:20 pm
Great Britain

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by peper03 » Sun Apr 10, 2016 11:01 am

anstein wrote:To be able to do so I had to write proper 'middleware' in form of a CUSE based virtual DVB device daemon. You can find the code at https://github.com/not1337/libsatip
It looks like quite a bit of work has been put into this but I've had a hard time getting anything much to work. Too little information is output if something is wrong. For example, satipscan can take up to 31 parameters but any mistake merely prints the usage info. There's no clue at all about which parameter, or parameter combination is incorrect or missing.

It's also really hard to understand the code because there are no comments and too many single letter variables.

I've no doubt made a mistake somewhere with the configuration file(s) but even spending some time adding debug output and single-stepping hasn't let me figure out exactly what the problem is, and that's already way more effort than I'm guessing most people are going to invest.

Like I said, you've obviously put a significant amount of work into the functionality, but the error reporting needs improving because it just seems to be too hard to set up at the moment without understanding the code in detail.

Richard.

cola
Newcomer
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:14 am
Switzerland

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by cola » Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:26 am

I read this post, because I have setup a mythTV for my IPTV. The IPTV works fine!
Now I want to add my SAT>IP (OctopusNET http://www.digital-devices.eu/shop/de/n ... zwerktuner) to mythTV. How all write here in the post, I also try to generate a m3u like this

Code: Select all

#EXTM3U
#EXTINF:0,103 - Das Erste HD
#EXTMYTHTV:xmltvid=DasErsteHD.de
rtsp://10.10.9.111/?src=1&freq=11494&pol=h&msys=dvbs2&sr=22000&pids=0,5100,5101,5104,5102,5103,5106,5101
If I search the channels, it find it and import it. But if I want watch this channel I became no Signal. How can we add rtsp channels? Would be nice if somebody can help

lazygeek
Newcomer
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 11:29 pm
Great Britain

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by lazygeek » Tue Oct 11, 2016 11:40 pm

Would anyone know if someone is looking into SAT>IP at the moment for MythTV? (ie something might appear in the next few months?) I totally understand this is all on an needs basis, just would be nice to know if it may appear in the future.

I've been a MythTV user for 9 years and recently got a SAT>IP box in aid of simplifying my setup, removing the need of internal cards. I've tried moving over to Tvheadend but it is a bit too limiting due to the lack of recording groups (which I use to separate ours and the kids TV shows). The Kodi support for MythTV is a lot better than Tvheadend for my needs, top level directories (recording groups) and artwork, not to mention the recording rules... You don't know what you need until it's gone :)

DanielDewald
Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 11:44 am
Germany

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by DanielDewald » Sat Nov 19, 2016 12:05 pm

I'd love to help. Unfortunately I've no experience with DVB or MythTV Code. But since I'm sooner or later going to have the same problem everyone else here has, I'll probably make the time to read myself in.

From my point of view integrating most of anstein's library code into a proper form in MythTV itself (because a library or daemon that is not supported by most distros is practically useless) might be the best way to go. Also having a look at the VDR Sat>IP Plugin might help if something is unclear. Unfortunately I don't have a Sat>IP Server as of yet and since this is not a pressing matter for me yet, it'll most likely take a while before I can get myself to dig through all the code. Maybe in the meantime someone else has done it.. there has already been a lot of stuff done, but it seems clear that most of it is incomplete and just puzzle pieces.. would be great if people pooled their resources to the benefit of all (you know OSS n' stuff) :roll:.

Post Reply