Wake on lan and how to start up when using mythweb?

Do you want advice about what hardware to buy for use with MythTV? Ask here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
jimls
Junior
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 2:26 am
United States of America

Wake on lan and how to start up when using mythweb?

Post by jimls » Sat May 28, 2022 9:30 am

Have a single FE/BE. Use mythweb to set recordings, see what is upcoming, etc. Currently just run my box 24/7 but putting together an new one with SSD that will boot much faster so thinking I will try to shutdown when not in use. Is there a way to wake up if I want to use mythweb on another PC on the network?

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 2057
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Wake on lan and how to start up when using mythweb?

Post by bill6502 » Sat May 28, 2022 1:57 pm

I'd search for a "Wake on LAN" app for your other PC. You'll most likely need to provide it
with the MAC of your backend (never seen otherwise). Also, the distribution of your backend
may or may not enable WOL automatically. Last I looked, Ubuntu included the ethtool program
and enables WOL for you.

User avatar
paulh
Developer
Posts: 741
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:09 pm
Great Britain

Re: Wake on lan and how to start up when using mythweb?

Post by paulh » Sat May 28, 2022 3:04 pm

I explain how I enable wakeonlan on my Ubuntu machines here :-
https://mythqml.net/post-install.php
Scroll down to the Enable wake on lan using magic packet section

Post Reply