Recent Backend Build?

Do you want advice about what hardware to buy for use with MythTV? Ask here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Recent Backend Build?

Post by bill6502 » Sat Feb 08, 2020 6:04 pm

If restoring the DB is the issue, then (without any logs or detail) is the hostname
on the new box/VM identical to the one the DB backup was made on? If not, then
it will appear as if all old host specific settings are gone.

AnalogBill
Newcomer
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:11 am
United States of America

Re: Recent Backend Build?

Post by AnalogBill » Sun Feb 09, 2020 12:01 am

Not the same hostname. Running mythconverg_restore.pl --drop_database --create_database --filename /<Put Actual Path Here>/mythconverg-xxxxx.sql.gz reports success, so I run mythconverg_restore.pl --change_hostname --old_hostname="XXXX" --new_hostname="YYYY" with no errors.
However, in the mythconverg settings table I see a lot of old host names, user names etc. Cleaning these manually doesn't improve anything.
Should I build my new box using the old hostname, restore/upgrade from the old database, and change the hostname at that point?

doomedtx
Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2020 12:07 pm
United States of America

Re: Recent Backend Build?

Post by doomedtx » Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:12 am

MikeB2013 wrote:
Fri Feb 07, 2020 7:34 pm
Assuming you are using an external xmltv grabber e.g. Schedules Direct

I use --no-allatonce on my systems (I have satellite, so there are many channels) with 4GB or 8GB of RAM, without the setting mythfilldatabase even with 8GB RAM takes a very long time to run and seriously overloads the system. Just put --no-allatonce in the List data arguments field using mythtv-setup.
Thanks for the reply. I am using the Schedules Direct xmltv grabber. When I initially set it up, the --no-allatonce option would cause mythfilldatabase to fail. Removing that flag caused it to start working again. Perhaps I need to retry and see if I can pin down why it was failing.

Post Reply