AMD Ryzen 3 2200G

Do you want advice about what hardware to buy for use with MythTV? Ask here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

AMD Ryzen 3 2200G

Post by wesnewell » Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:56 pm

Been running an amd phenom II system with built in GF8200 graphics since 2009. Not really any complaints and it still runs well with 16G of ram. Just thought it was time to upgrade and I'm considering the ryzen 3 2200G with built in vega graphics. Anyone here running such a system with mythtv? Any drawbacks to the vega graphics as far as mythtv goes? Not worried about anything but mythtv playback. I don't really play any high graphics games. Would like to get ready for 4K HD with 1080 hd being phased out in the next few years. Thoughts?
BE/FE-AMD Ryzen 3 2200G, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

alien878
Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 8:19 am
Germany

Re: AMD Ryzen 3 2200G

Post by alien878 » Fri Aug 17, 2018 8:36 am

If you need de-interlacing, you might want to hold off. As far as I know mythtv only supports HW deinterlacing on nvidia cards (VDPAU). VAAPI HW deinterlacing isn't fully supported. I understand an ffmpeg re-base might be in the works, so it might be coming soon.

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: AMD Ryzen 3 2200G

Post by wesnewell » Fri Aug 17, 2018 8:57 am

Too late. I just ordered a new system about an hour ago. Will post results after I get it.
BE/FE-AMD Ryzen 3 2200G, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: AMD Ryzen 3 2200G

Post by wesnewell » Thu Aug 23, 2018 4:37 am

Quick follow up. Got the new mb, ram, and cpu yesterday. Put it on a bench test, and came right up into bios. Then hooked up an old 16.4 mythbuntu frontend drive to it and it booted to the desktop without a problem. No problem I thought, so today I moved it into my mythtv server running 18.04.1. Hit the power switch and after a while got the mb logo, with options for booting, bios, etc. Problem was it wouldn't go pass there. Not even into bios. After disconnecting usb devices, hard drives and most everything else with no luck I removed my PCIe tuner cards and then it booted straight to bios. No problem. Wrong after connecting the hard drives back, xubuntu 18.04.1 wouldn't boot. A screen full of errors, and hang. It was getting to the point where I needed to start recordings for the night, so threw the old mb on the desk and pieced it back together for an open air system. Looks like I'll be waiting a while to use the new system. Fun fun fun, not!
BE/FE-AMD Ryzen 3 2200G, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: AMD Ryzen 3 2200G

Post by wesnewell » Thu Aug 30, 2018 9:12 pm

Well I got a running system now. Since I couldn't get display to work properly with 18.04.1 install, I booted to 16.04 thst was on the drive and then did an in place upgrade to 18.04 and it installed 4.15 kernel. That wouldn't boot either, but could boot the old 4.10 kernel. Started looking in the bios and found it was set to boot with a PCIe card and not the internal gpu. After changing that to use the internal gpu it would boot with the new 4.15 kernel. Still couldn't use the 18.04.1 iso for a new install though as it split the screen so you couldn't see the install screens properly. Anway, I got a frontend installed on it and it's working fine. Haven't done much else with it. Will try a new install when 18.04.2 is released. Good until then.
BE/FE-AMD Ryzen 3 2200G, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: AMD Ryzen 3 2200G

Post by wesnewell » Tue Sep 04, 2018 12:03 am

Rather than wait for 18.04.2 I decided to start upgrading kernel versions. First tried 4.17.11, then 4.17.19, and lastly 4.18.5, which is the latest as of today. That seems to fix a lot of problems I was having with booting. Also had to upgrade the bios version to 5.0 to allow recognition of my tuner cards, and even start the boot process. Will probably give a switch to the new system sometimes later this week. Maybe third time will be a charm. For the record, the new MB is an asrock AB350 PRO4. Trying an internet upgrade showed none available for the P4.60 it came with. But on their website it showed 5.0 available so I dloaded and installed it and that's what let the system at least start the boot process with the tuner cards in it. It would lock up solid before that.
BE/FE-AMD Ryzen 3 2200G, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: AMD Ryzen 3 2200G

Post by wesnewell » Fri Sep 07, 2018 9:55 pm

Success, mostly. Moved everything over to the new system last night and it's up and running good now with 4.18.6 kernel. The only problem now is most of the time it won't boot or restart properly (hangs during boot). But pressing the computer reset button will boot to the grub menu and starting it again from there 99% of the time boots properly. For me, that's not a big problem as this backend server system runs 24/7 anyway. Hopefully, the kernel builders will get this working better in the near future. Still can't install xubuntu 18.04 or 18.04.1 because the screen is screwed up. But there's way to get around that.
BE/FE-AMD Ryzen 3 2200G, 6 atsc tuners. Frontends-GF8200's,,AMD Athlon II's. Mythtv user since 2005.

Post Reply