Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Do you want advice about what hardware to buy for use with MythTV? Ask here.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Heinz
Newcomer
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:45 am
Germany

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by Heinz » Fri Jan 06, 2017 11:30 am

...and I'm one who needs help 8-). Since a couple of weeks, I'm a proud owner of a SAT-Box (XORO HRT 8765) which announces to be a SAT>IP-Server and seems to be. Its channels are fetchable from http://<192.168.sat.ip>:<UDP-Port 57235>/channellist.m3u

If configurated with myth-setup, the playlist is fetched and added to the DVB-T-Channels - but not tuneable... at least nothing seems to happen. Where is the error? In front of or behind the Monitor? 8-)

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
dekarl
Developer
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 11:01 pm
Germany

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by dekarl » Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:07 pm

Heinz wrote:the playlist is fetched and added to the DVB-T-Channels - but not tuneable...
Can you show us the beginning of the playlist, say 2-3 channels?
And related error messages from the mythbackend.log would be helpful.

Heinz
Newcomer
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:45 am
Germany

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by Heinz » Sun Jan 08, 2017 1:21 am

@dekarl,

seems to be the standard playlist:

Code: Select all

#EXTM3U
#EXTINF:0,0. Das Erste HD
rtsp://192.168.0.81/?src=1&freq=11493&pol=h&sr=22000&msys=dvbs&pids=0,5100,5101,5101,5102
#EXTINF:0,1. ZDF HD
rtsp://192.168.0.81/?src=1&freq=11362&pol=h&sr=22000&msys=dvbs&pids=0,6100,6110,6110,6120
#EXTINF:0,2. tagesschau24
rtsp://192.168.0.81/?src=1&freq=10744&pol=h&sr=22000&msys=dvbs&pids=0,100,101,101,102
mythbackend.log doesn't show related lines.
The setup is made with FREEBOX.

Heinz
Newcomer
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:45 am
Germany

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by Heinz » Sun Jan 08, 2017 4:53 pm

Additional information: yesterday, I loaded the app "tivizen" on my android tablet and tried with it. It got the channellist, and it could tune the server and all worked like expected! Even the server's channel display showed the new tuned channel number. And the tablet played the program content. Unfortunately, the app wasn't as stable as expected - it told me after every new startup, there has not been found any sat>ip-server - I had to deinstall the app. So, at least the sat>ip-server is not broken.

DanielDewald
Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 11:44 am
Germany

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by DanielDewald » Sun Jan 22, 2017 6:35 pm

Just out of curiosity: Why has nobody placed a feature request for full Sat>IP support in the feature request forum (viewforum.php?f=9) yet? I mean using the mu3 feature of some of the Sat>IP Servers is all fine and dandy, but it's just delay the support for the real deal. And ultimately that is what we're aiming for right?

strenker
Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 7:25 pm
Germany

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by strenker » Sun Mar 12, 2017 8:33 pm

Hi,

I struggled a lot getting my Digital Devices OctopusNet SAT>IP receiver (2 Tuners) to work. I found this forum-list a bit late since it provided 50% of the answers already. The OctopusNet TV streams are accessible via rtsp:// URLs. Digital Devices provides a downloadable tool called OctoCast for customization of .m3u and .xspf playlists to be used with VLC. These playlists work perfectly with VLC.

Setting up a FREEBOX tuner with MythTV did not work. But using wireshark I found out, that the OctopusNet did send the RTP TV stream as MPEG-TS. MythTV did set up the RTC and RTCP ports for receiving the stream. Just the recording file stayed empty.

Intensive log-file reading and some digging in the source code (28.1) gave me the clue to add the following MythTV extensions to the .m3u playlist derived from OctoCast (this clue I could have found out in this thread erlier ... however I learned it the hard way):

Code: Select all

#EXTM3U
#EXTINF:0,9901 - Das Erste HD
#EXTMYTHTV:xmltvid=ard.de
#EXTVLCOPT:program=10301
rtsp://192.168.17.200/?src=1&freq=11494&pol=h&msys=dvbs2&sr=22000&pids=0,5100,5101,5104,5102,5103,5106,5101
#EXTINF:0,9902 - Das Erste
#EXTMYTHTV:xmltvid=ard.de
#EXTVLCOPT:program=28106
rtsp://192.168.17.200/?src=1&freq=11836&pol=h&msys=dvbs&sr=27500&pids=0,100,101,104,102,103,106,101
#EXTINF:0,9903 - ZDF HD
#EXTMYTHTV:xmltvid=zdf.de
#EXTVLCOPT:program=11110
rtsp://192.168.17.200/?src=1&freq=11362&pol=h&msys=dvbs2&sr=22000&pids=0,6100,6110,6130,6120,6121,6122,6123,6110
#EXTINF:0,9904 - ZDF
#EXTMYTHTV:xmltvid=zdf.de
#EXTVLCOPT:program=28006
rtsp://192.168.17.200/?src=1&freq=11954&pol=h&msys=dvbs&sr=27500&pids=0,100,110,130,120,121,122,125,110
The #EXTVLCOPT:program=xxx is used to set the serviceid parameter in the chanel table to xxx.

Proper values for PIDs I found here http://www.satindex.de/sat/astra-free/

Now I could watch TV and record MPEG-TS streams using the OctopusNet SAT>IP box.

But I could use only one tuner at a time. Recording of two different TV streams in parallel did not work. The second one just got a partial lock.

Some more digging in log-files and source code leaded me to the following patch for iptvtuningdata.h where the method GetDeviceKey needs to be patched to recognize RTSP devices as well.

Code: Select all

diff -Naur a/mythtv-0.28.1/mythtv/libs/libmythtv/iptvtuningdata.h b/mythtv-0.28.1/mythtv/libs/libmythtv/iptvtuningdata.h
--- a/mythtv-0.28.1/mythtv/libs/libmythtv/iptvtuningdata.h      2017-02-01 09:49:25.000000000 +0000
+++ b/mythtv-0.28.1/mythtv/libs/libmythtv/iptvtuningdata.h      2017-03-11 16:15:26.076839980 +0000
@@ -97,7 +97,7 @@
         const QUrl u = GetDataURL();
         if (IsHLS())
             return QString("%1(%2)").arg(u.toString()).arg(GetBitrate(0));
-        if (IsHTTPTS())
+        if (IsHTTPTS() || IsRTSP())
             return QString("%1").arg(u.toString());
         return QString("%1:%2:%3")
             .arg(u.host()).arg(u.userInfo()).arg(u.port()).toLower();
Now I can record multiple TV streams simultaneously :D

Unfortunately I have no other devices to perform tests. So I have no glue if the patch I have developed and which works fine for me breaks MythTV for any other device.

I hope, this helps whoever it may concern.

User avatar
Steve Goodey
Moderator
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 6:30 pm
Location: Colchester, England
Great Britain

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by Steve Goodey » Mon Mar 13, 2017 2:03 pm

Sounds like it would be a good idea to add this to the wiki? https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Main_Page

strenker
Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 7:25 pm
Germany

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by strenker » Mon Mar 13, 2017 3:10 pm

No problem to add this to the WiKi. But I have a henn/egg problem (and I am not Juck Norris). When I try to register to the WiKi I just get the login-page. And the login requires a registration.

User avatar
Steve Goodey
Moderator
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 6:30 pm
Location: Colchester, England
Great Britain

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by Steve Goodey » Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:30 am

Yeah sorry about that. Brain fade my end. Should have remembered registering was removed because of spammers. I've got of the devs to turn registering back on. Could you register when you have a minute in case he wants to turn them back off again?

User avatar
paulh
Developer
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:09 pm
Great Britain

Re: Will mythtv be supporting SAT>IP ?

Post by paulh » Wed Mar 15, 2017 9:05 am

strenker wrote:
But I could use only one tuner at a time. Recording of two different TV streams in parallel did not work. The second one just got a partial lock.

Some more digging in log-files and source code leaded me to the following patch for iptvtuningdata.h where the method GetDeviceKey needs to be patched to recognize RTSP devices as well.

Code: Select all

diff -Naur a/mythtv-0.28.1/mythtv/libs/libmythtv/iptvtuningdata.h b/mythtv-0.28.1/mythtv/libs/libmythtv/iptvtuningdata.h
--- a/mythtv-0.28.1/mythtv/libs/libmythtv/iptvtuningdata.h      2017-02-01 09:49:25.000000000 +0000
+++ b/mythtv-0.28.1/mythtv/libs/libmythtv/iptvtuningdata.h      2017-03-11 16:15:26.076839980 +0000
@@ -97,7 +97,7 @@
         const QUrl u = GetDataURL();
         if (IsHLS())
             return QString("%1(%2)").arg(u.toString()).arg(GetBitrate(0));
-        if (IsHTTPTS())
+        if (IsHTTPTS() || IsRTSP())
             return QString("%1").arg(u.toString());
         return QString("%1:%2:%3")
             .arg(u.host()).arg(u.userInfo()).arg(u.port()).toLower();
Now I can record multiple TV streams simultaneously :D

Unfortunately I have no other devices to perform tests. So I have no glue if the patch I have developed and which works fine for me breaks MythTV for any other device.
I can't test the RTSP support but there shouldn't be any unwanted side affects from this change that I can think of. I'll commit this later today so it doesn't get forgot about.

Post Reply