[Solved] Trying to migrate from Media Center to Ubuntu MythTV

For discussion of topics specific to MythTV on linux
wb8tyw
Junior
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 11:51 pm
United States of America

Re: Trying to migrate from Media Center to Ubuntu MythTV

Post by wb8tyw » Sat Mar 14, 2020 9:56 pm

Had to do one more fix to my ansible role on the directories.
This only fixed the storage not writable message.

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1724
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Trying to migrate from Media Center to Ubuntu MythTV

Post by bill6502 » Sat Mar 14, 2020 10:11 pm

Your permissions are incorrect. sudo chmod 775 /data/mythtv/group/*

wb8tyw
Junior
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 11:51 pm
United States of America

Re: Trying to migrate from Media Center to Ubuntu MythTV

Post by wb8tyw » Sat Mar 14, 2020 10:31 pm

Already fixed the permissions. Did not fix the not being able to configure the hdhomerun tuners.

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1724
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Trying to migrate from Media Center to Ubuntu MythTV

Post by bill6502 » Sat Mar 14, 2020 10:37 pm

Can you post the log at pastebin.com and put a link to it here?

wb8tyw
Junior
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 11:51 pm
United States of America

Re: Trying to migrate from Media Center to Ubuntu MythTV

Post by wb8tyw » Sat Mar 14, 2020 10:56 pm

https://pastebin.com/YZeMWUcA Good for about a month.

wb8tyw
Junior
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 11:51 pm
United States of America

Re: Trying to migrate from Media Center to Ubuntu MythTV

Post by wb8tyw » Sat Mar 28, 2020 7:08 pm

Setup a VM with Ubuntu 18.10 workstation and installed the distro provided mythtv: 2:29.1+fixes.20180414.329c235-0ubuntu3.

Getting the same issue when trying to configure the hdhomerun tuners. No option to select a specific hdhomerun tuner.
The only options that I can find is the escape key to exit the dialog, or to select another tuner.

Have verified that the hdhomerun tunners are both accessible from the VM.

Both systems are setup to use "lightdm" not "gdm" so that I can use x11vnc to serve the display.

Found these messages in the log:
Mar 28 13:40:21 magpie mythtv-setup.real: mythtv-setup[5773]: I CoreContext cardutil.cpp:2188 (GetHDHRdesc) CardUtil::GetHDHRdescription(1043918B) - trying to locate device
Mar 28 13:40:21 magpie mythtv-setup.real: mythtv-setup[5773]: I CoreContext cardutil.cpp:2188 (GetHDHRdesc) CardUtil::GetHDHRdescription(1043918B) - trying to locate device
Mar 28 13:40:21 magpie mythtv-setup.real: mythtv-setup[5773]: I CoreContext cardutil.cpp:2188 (GetHDHRdesc) CardUtil::GetHDHRdescription(103C4324) - trying to locate device
Mar 28 13:40:21 magpie mythtv-setup.real: mythtv-setup[5773]: I CoreContext cardutil.cpp:2188 (GetHDHRdesc) CardUtil::GetHDHRdescription(103C4324) - trying to locate device
hdhomerun_config discover
hdhomerun device 1043918B found at 192.168.0.107
hdhomerun device 103C4324 found at 192.168.0.145

wb8tyw
Junior
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 11:51 pm
United States of America

Re: Trying to migrate from Media Center to Ubuntu MythTV

Post by wb8tyw » Sun Apr 05, 2020 6:14 pm

running mythtv-setup with debug shows that the hdhomerun devices are being detected, but does not show why they are not being rendered on the display.

Code: Select all

2020-04-05 13:02:09.729286 D  VBox: Found 2 possible VBoxes
2020-04-05 13:02:09.729340 D  VBox: Found possible VBox at HDHomeRun DMS 1043918B (192.168.0.107:80)
2020-04-05 13:02:09.729362 D  VBox: Found possible VBox at MEDIACENTERPC: myuser: (192.168.0.101:2869)
2020-04-05 13:02:09.739235 E  V4L2(): Could not open '':
                        eno: No such file or directory (2)
2020-04-05 13:02:09.845781 D  Setting Wait for SEQ start header. changed to 1
2020-04-05 13:02:09.845807 D  Setting Open DVB card on demand changed to 1
2020-04-05 13:02:09.845818 D  Setting Use DVB card for active EIT scan changed to 1
2020-04-05 13:02:09.846768 D  Setting Use HDHomeRun 103C4324 (hdhomerun3_atsc 192.168.0.147) changed to 0
2020-04-05 13:02:09.846781 D  Setting Use HDHomeRun 1043918B (hdhomerun4_atsc 192.168.0.107) changed to 0
2020-04-05 13:02:09.846803 D  Setting Use HD HomeRun for active EIT scan changed to 1
2020-04-05 13:02:09.862533 E  V4L2(): Could not open '':
                        eno: No such file or directory (2)


wb8tyw
Junior
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 11:51 pm
United States of America

Re: Trying to migrate from Media Center to Ubuntu MythTV

Post by wb8tyw » Sun Apr 05, 2020 10:24 pm

Tried to log into the MythTV bug tracker to file a ticket about this issue using my GitHUB account.
Got the e-mail from Github confiming that the mythtv project was linked.

Getting a "We are sorry... Invalid username or password" when I try to log into the tracker.

Have checked out the fixes 30 branch and built it on the Ubuntu 18.04 VM and got the same results.

Not sure what to do next other than try to add some more logging to to code to figure out what is going on.

User avatar
heyted
Senior
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 2:14 am
Location: South Florida
Contact:
United States of America

Re: Trying to migrate from Media Center to Ubuntu MythTV

Post by heyted » Mon Apr 06, 2020 1:15 am

Any reason for not using the ppa? I have never built MythTV. Here are the steps I used for v30 on Ubuntu 18.04. You said you have one HDHR connected to cable TV? Is it an HDHR Prime or do you have clear QAM cable? Good luck.
Ted | My blog

wb8tyw
Junior
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 11:51 pm
United States of America

Re: Trying to migrate from Media Center to Ubuntu MythTV

Post by wb8tyw » Mon Apr 06, 2020 1:07 pm

I am getting the same problem using:

Ubuntu 19.10 and Mythtv 2.31 via the PPA on the physical system that is intended to eventually host the backend.

Ubuntu 18.04 and Mythtv 2.30 via the Ubuntu repositories on a VM.
Ubuntu 18.04 and Mythtv fixes/30 branch built from source the same VM.

I have two HDHR tunners. One is connected to an antenna. The other is connected to cable to pick up clear QAM channels.

Both are able to be used by the Microsoft Media Center and by the HDHR utilities on Linux and Android.

And both are shown at --loglevel=debug for the mythtv-setup.

According to the updated wiki page posted earlier in the discussion, when I add or edit HDHOMERUN tuners, I should be presented with a list of the tuners that where discovered and reported with --loglevel=debug. For me no list is displayed.

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1724
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Trying to migrate from Media Center to Ubuntu MythTV

Post by bill6502 » Mon Apr 06, 2020 1:44 pm

Hi,

Sorry this isn't working for you.

I'm running 19.10 using master (which is pretty close to v31 right now) and just deleted
and added an HDHR OK (bare metal too.) I have the same on 18.04 and 20.04 Beta
with v31 (although I haven't used that in a month or so).

If I understand things, you're able to get to the Card Type:, press return and see the
list of tuner types, select HDHomeRun Networked Tuner OK.

Is that correct?

If that works as above, then when you press the right arrow, what do you see?
[In my case, I've only got one HDHR and it does show up.]

wb8tyw
Junior
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 11:51 pm
United States of America

Re: Trying to migrate from Media Center to Ubuntu MythTV

Post by wb8tyw » Tue Apr 07, 2020 2:24 am

The arrow key. I missed that from reading the pages on the Wiki page.

Thank you.

It looks like I can now do the configuration.

A GUI should not be switching people from mouse to keyboard for actions that should be done by a mouse. And if keyboard keys are needed for any action, there should be either a guide on the GUI, or there should be "HELP" button to bring up that information.

I have been clicking on the graphics of the > bracket and it has been just bringing up the selection list.

User avatar
paulh
Developer
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:09 pm
Great Britain

Re: Trying to migrate from Media Center to Ubuntu MythTV

Post by paulh » Tue Apr 07, 2020 10:56 am

The original inspiration for creating MythTV was to create an interface you could use on a TV with a remote control. Being able to use a mouse is just an added bonus. I think the mouse support was more for use on touch screens but there are areas where it doesn't work as you would want since it was never completed when we switched to using MythUI.

There is nothing preventing theme developers from adding help text to screens if they want. The problem is it uses valuable screen space that could be better used for other things especially bearing in mind MythTV is primarily designed to be a 10' interface, that is you should be able to sit in your arm chair 10' from the TV and still be able to use it.

A long time ago I offered to add an help screen interface if someone else would step up to maintain the help text but sadly no one took up the offer :(

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1724
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Trying to migrate from Media Center to Ubuntu MythTV

Post by bill6502 » Tue Apr 07, 2020 11:45 pm

@wb8tyw, you didn't miss anything, the Wiki was updated. Klaas, just updated the Wiki
(hint, see the history tab).

wb8tyw
Junior
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 11:51 pm
United States of America

Re: Trying to migrate from Media Center to Ubuntu MythTV

Post by wb8tyw » Wed Apr 08, 2020 12:53 pm

In my years of operating the Microsoft Media Center one of the things that I discovered is that it can be hard to get screen time on the TV set to do maintenance because someone wants to be watching something.

So the TV 10 foot GUI has only been used for scheduling recordings and and selecting recordings to watch.

Everything else has been using the Media Center HOST PC GUI via the mouse and keyboard. The 10 foot GUI for Media Center there is tolerable as long as it is not in full screen mode, but keyboard data entry is less than optimal on it as some of the functions are assuming that you are limited to a TV remote.

While I started out with the TV connected to a PC video card, it required that the PC be too close to the TV or the audio/video quality was less than optimal, and activity on the PC could interfere with video playback, so I switched to using X-BOX 360s, which I can now get refurbished real cheap.

For this project, once the PC is operational, it will be essentially run with out a display most of the time. My main GUI access to it will be through VNC and I discovered if no display is connected when VNC is started, some type of virtual display is created, and that then connecting a HDMI display is not acknowledged with out at least restarting the lightdm service.

I have not yet determined what the front end side device will be for the TV sets. I have a few rPIs and an Intel Compute Stick that was bundled with Windows 10 32 bit to test out, along with testing a client on this PC with the back end. Only one TV claims to be "smart" with DNLA input.

I am also trying to get this into the state where I can stand up a server or a client with an automated script and a data file so that in case of a hardware failure I can get a new system up. Which means avoiding a GUI for the initial setup.

Post Reply