v.29 Released?

For discussion of topics specific to MythTV on linux
Post Reply
thefuzz4
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:30 pm
United States of America

v.29 Released?

Post by thefuzz4 »

So I see that .29 was released and I have 2 centos slave backends that I build from source. Before I go and checkout master from github the readme says that its v30 on there so I know I don't want to go the route of doing that again because I did that once and yeah it was no fun playing through the alpha/beta/rc phases with Kodi plugin lol.

I don't see in the git branches an option for .29 so is it just a typo in the ReadME?

Thank you all for your help with this and long live the Myth.
MikeB2013
Senior
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2016 4:16 pm
Great Britain

Re: v.29 Released?

Post by MikeB2013 »

From github the branch you want is fixes/29 which is the current release.
If you use master branch you will get 30 (pre) which is the current development version - not what you probably want for production.

BTW I presume you are going to be using Kodi 17 which does have stable pvr.mythtv addon which works with fixes/29 (rather than Kodi 18 Leia which is in development, with lots of changes in pvr clients at present)

Mike
thefuzz4
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:30 pm
United States of America

Re: v.29 Released?

Post by thefuzz4 »

Yeah I"m using v17 of Kodi

This is all I see when I query the branches.

Code: Select all

git branch -a
  beta/0.28
* fixes/0.28
  master
  remotes/origin/HEAD -> origin/master
  remotes/origin/beta/0.28
  remotes/origin/devel/027candidates
  remotes/origin/devel/action-redo
  remotes/origin/devel/dbus-screensaver
  remotes/origin/devel/eit-encoding-fixes
  remotes/origin/devel/ffmpeg-resync
  remotes/origin/devel/ffmpeg-sync-20120331
  remotes/origin/devel/gpu-commflag
  remotes/origin/devel/hls
  remotes/origin/devel/housekeeper
  remotes/origin/devel/http_ssl
  remotes/origin/devel/iptv
  remotes/origin/devel/logging
  remotes/origin/devel/logging-zeromq
  remotes/origin/devel/lvr/backcompat
  remotes/origin/devel/lvr/bugfixes
  remotes/origin/devel/lvr/rpi
  remotes/origin/devel/lvr/startup
  remotes/origin/devel/mythsocket
  remotes/origin/devel/mythsystem
  remotes/origin/devel/mythtv-rec2
  remotes/origin/devel/mythui/settings
  remotes/origin/devel/newvaapi
  remotes/origin/devel/old_master
  remotes/origin/devel/opengl
  remotes/origin/devel/resync
  remotes/origin/devel/resync-ffmpeg
  remotes/origin/devel/resync-ffmpeg28
  remotes/origin/devel/rpi
  remotes/origin/devel/rtp
  remotes/origin/devel/scheduler
  remotes/origin/devel/vaapifix
  remotes/origin/fixes/0.18
  remotes/origin/fixes/0.19
  remotes/origin/fixes/0.20
  remotes/origin/fixes/0.21
  remotes/origin/fixes/0.22
  remotes/origin/fixes/0.23
  remotes/origin/fixes/0.24
  remotes/origin/fixes/0.25
  remotes/origin/fixes/0.26
  remotes/origin/fixes/0.27
  remotes/origin/fixes/0.28
  remotes/origin/master
  remotes/origin/personal/jyavenard/backports/fixes/0.24
  remotes/origin/personal/stuartm/mheg-debug
User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 2325
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: v29 Released?

Post by bill6502 »

Have you done a git pull recently? These should work:
git branch --list '*29*';git tag --list '*29*'
thefuzz4
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:30 pm
United States of America

Re: v.29 Released?

Post by thefuzz4 »

Yeah I just blew away the whole thing and did a git clone

Code: Select all

 git clone https://github.com/MythTV/mythtv.git mythtv

git branch --list '*29*';git tag --list '*29*'
v29-pre
User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 2325
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: v29 Released?

Post by bill6502 »

Bit of a mystery. Looking at that page and the Branch button,
you can see Branches or Tags. Both have 29 there. The
output of the two commands on my box is

Code: Select all

  fixes/29
v29-pre
v29-rc1
v29.0
But then, I've checkout'ed out fixes/29.

Note that the leading . is gone now, so it's 29, not .29.
MikeB2013
Senior
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2016 4:16 pm
Great Britain

Re: v.29 Released?

Post by MikeB2013 »

The difference in output is to do with fixes/29 being checked out. Seems -r is needed to show remotes with --list if not checked out.

Just do 'git checkout fixes/29'

followed by 'git branch -v' to check

'git branch -a' will list all branches with an * against the currently checked out branch.

Mike
thefuzz4
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:30 pm
United States of America

Re: v.29 Released?

Post by thefuzz4 »

so gave that a go and

Code: Select all

git checkout fixes/29
error: pathspec 'fixes/29' did not match any file(s) known to git.

git branch -v
  beta/0.28  662e8b7 Merge remote-tracking branch 'origin/master' into beta/0.28
* fixes/0.28 eef6a48 Fix bugs that occur when using a different video mode for playback.
  master     a92dcfe [behind 756] Fixes #12547 Load cardname and type for DVB-T2 cards.
User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 2325
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: v.29 Released?

Post by bill6502 »

git checkout fixes/999 returns the same error message. Are you
sure you're in the freshly cloned tree? Using your git clone into
/tmp, everything works OK.
thefuzz4
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:30 pm
United States of America

Re: v.29 Released?

Post by thefuzz4 »

Ok so blew it away and cloned again and now I"m in business. Time to compile.
thefuzz4
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:30 pm
United States of America

Re: v.29 Released?

Post by thefuzz4 »

btw thank you all very much for the quick response. Love my mythtv allowed us to ditch the cable boxes years ago and we recently ditched cable all together so now we're just OTA wouldn't be possible without you guys. Well it would but why would I want to use another DVR.
Post Reply