Project ERROR: Unknown module(s) in QT: webkitwidgets

For discussion of topics specific to MythTV on linux
Post Reply
Greenfin
Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 9:03 pm
United States of America

Project ERROR: Unknown module(s) in QT: webkitwidgets

Post by Greenfin » Thu Aug 10, 2017 9:47 pm

Hi folks, first post here. I'm trying to compile version 29. Is there a way around needing QT Webkit Widgets? I get Project ERROR: Unknown module(s) in QT: webkitwidgets trying to compile. I've tried compiling webkit widgets, but it seems broken. Qtwebkit is marked obsolete in the latest qt5 git download.

Thanks.

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 814
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Project ERROR: Unknown module(s) in QT: webkitwidgets

Post by bill6502 » Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:11 pm

Hi,

Mention your distribution and others may help. I'm using libqt5webkit5-dev
on Ubuntu.

Greenfin
Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 9:03 pm
United States of America

Re: Project ERROR: Unknown module(s) in QT: webkitwidgets

Post by Greenfin » Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:28 pm

I'm using Slackware 14.2, which is still on qt4. I'm downloading qt 5.5 and I'm going to try to build it.There is also a qt5 SlackBuild and a qtwebkit slackbuild I may try.

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 814
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Project ERROR: Unknown module(s) in QT: webkitwidgets

Post by bill6502 » Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:37 pm

Good. I'd have thought ./configure would have warned about not having a
valid version of Qt 5.[2-9]. If you able, please pastebin a copy of ./configure
while still without Qt 5, thanks.

Greenfin
Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 9:03 pm
United States of America

Re: Project ERROR: Unknown module(s) in QT: webkitwidgets

Post by Greenfin » Thu Aug 10, 2017 11:11 pm

I ran this command line
./configure --qmake=/usr/local/Qt-5.9.1/bin/qmake

Here is ./configure:
https://pastebin.com/f4CbyRGq

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 814
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Project ERROR: Unknown module(s) in QT: webkitwidgets

Post by bill6502 » Thu Aug 10, 2017 11:14 pm

Sorry, I meant the output of ./configure

Greenfin
Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 9:03 pm
United States of America

Re: Project ERROR: Unknown module(s) in QT: webkitwidgets

Post by Greenfin » Thu Aug 10, 2017 11:26 pm

Here is the output of ./configure --qmake=/usr/local/Qt-5.9.1/bin/qmake:
https://pastebin.com/kEc64AVG

Previously I didn't notice the PROJECT ERROR in the .configure output. I was thinking ./configure ran successfully.

User avatar
dizygotheca
Developer
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 9:02 am
Great Britain

Re: Project ERROR: Unknown module(s) in QT: webkitwidgets

Post by dizygotheca » Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:17 pm

IMO the configure script doesn't work well with non-packaged versions of Qt.
In many places it uses pkg-config rather than the qmake that you supply on the command line.

Investigate configure around line 7556. I suspect CONFIG_QTWEBKIT is enabled because it's detecting your qt4 webkit.

Greenfin
Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 9:03 pm
United States of America

Re: Project ERROR: Unknown module(s) in QT: webkitwidgets

Post by Greenfin » Sat Aug 12, 2017 12:30 am

To clarify, configure did notify me about not having qmake for Qt5.2 or greater, and therefore I supplied qmake on the command line.

Yes, it must be detecting the qt4 webkit, the only webkit installed.
./configure 7556:

Code: Select all

if $(pkg-config --exists Qt5WebKit) || $(pkg-config --exists QtWebKit) ; then
    enable qtwebkit
./config.mak 2458:

Code: Select all

CONFIG_QTWEBKIT=yes
With qmake for Qt 5 required, only Qt5WebKit should trigger qtwebkit as enabled, seems to me. I see now that the Project ERROR statement is generated by qmake and not by ./configure directly.

I'm building qtwebkit for 5.5 right now via a slackbuild. Hopefully in about 5 hours it will have completed without error.

User avatar
dizygotheca
Developer
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 9:02 am
Great Britain

Re: Project ERROR: Unknown module(s) in QT: webkitwidgets

Post by dizygotheca » Sat Aug 12, 2017 12:57 am

QtWebKit is only required for MythBrowser & MythNetVision plugins. If you don't need those, it's easier not to bother with it. That does require a little hacking of the configure script though. With CONFIG_QTWEBKIT=no the core code will build & run fine.

I used to build against downloaded Qt versions on Ubuntu. I gave up due to the hassles of getting the MySQL driver to work...

Post Reply