Anyone else seeing issues with 28 and High Sierra?

For discussion of topics specific to MythTV on OSX
Post Reply
rbmisc
Junior
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 3:55 am
United States of America

Anyone else seeing issues with 28 and High Sierra?

Post by rbmisc » Fri Oct 27, 2017 2:15 am

I seem to be having more problems with MythTV. My stations are pixelating and some aren't even connecting. They are in the 75 to 93 % signal strength. I know it's not my tuner. I have HDHomerun Extended and it's working fine with HDHomeRun app.

Any suggestions?

sfatula
Junior
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 3:51 am
Location: Calera, OK
United States of America

Re: Anyone else seeing issues with 28 and High Sierra?

Post by sfatula » Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:27 pm

I have no issues at all with High Sierra and mythtv 28. Works perfectly as far as tv and recordings.

Note signal strength by itself doesn't mean the channel will come in, there is also in hdhomerun a signal quality rating which is likely the problem.

You can run a command like this on Mac if you have hdhomerun software installed:

hdhomerun_config 104BE1F6 get /tuner1/status

Where /tuner1 is which tuner that has the station running and 104BE1F6 is your device id which you can get via:

hdhomerun_config discover

/tuner/status seems to work too (without the tuner #). For for me:

hdhomerun_config 104BE1F6 get /tuner/status

Yields:

ch=8vsb:207000000 lock=8vsb ss=96 snq=90 seq=100 bps=9909856 pps=941

ss = strength (96 for mine in this case), snq = quality (90 for mine in this case)

What does yours show?

User avatar
pvr4me
Senior
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 7:25 pm
Location: near Toronto, Canada
Contact:
Canada

Re: Anyone else seeing issues with 28 and High Sierra?

Post by pvr4me » Sat Oct 28, 2017 1:38 pm

Note that if you installed from MacPorts, you already have a copy of SiliconDust's utility--it is just renamed to 'mythhdhomerun_config'.

Craig
The MacPorts guy.

rbmisc
Junior
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 3:55 am
United States of America

Re: Anyone else seeing issues with 28 and High Sierra?

Post by rbmisc » Mon Oct 30, 2017 1:57 am

OK Here is what I have for a channel that is having no problems.
ch=8vsb:641000000 lock=8vsb ss=96 snq=98 seq=100 bps=11761280 pps=1117
and the one that is having problems.
ch=8vsb:213000000 lock=8vsb ss=88 snq=60 seq=100 bps=1845408 pps=177

sfatula
Junior
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 3:51 am
Location: Calera, OK
United States of America

Re: Anyone else seeing issues with 28 and High Sierra?

Post by sfatula » Mon Oct 30, 2017 5:30 am

You can see the snq is only a 60, not the best.

rbmisc
Junior
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 3:55 am
United States of America

Re: Anyone else seeing issues with 28 and High Sierra?

Post by rbmisc » Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:54 pm

The interesting thing is the one with the weak sng is only 8 miles from my house. Where the one with 98 sng is 11 miles. Both are in the same direction.

sfatula
Junior
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 3:51 am
Location: Calera, OK
United States of America

Re: Anyone else seeing issues with 28 and High Sierra?

Post by sfatula » Mon Oct 30, 2017 11:25 pm

Yep, there are may potential reasons for that, could be reflections, all sorts of things. Probably best to find an antenna forum.

Post Reply