MythTV 29-fixes standalone frontend.app

For discussion of topics specific to MythTV on OSX
Post Reply
User avatar
warpme
Translator
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:13 pm
Poland

MythTV 29-fixes standalone frontend.app

Post by warpme » Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:55 pm

Hi,
Just FYI if anybody needs standalone .app of mythfrontend....
I'm building in occasional way mythfrontend 29-fixes for OSX.

It is standalone MAC .app with all plugins except:

1. MythWeather (due problems with some Perl deps which I don't have time to investigate)

Current build is d087884 (r15; 8/08/2017) build on macOS Sierra 10.12.6 with Qt5.5.1 and all MiniMyth2 v8.11.0 patches

You can download zipped .app from:

https://dl.bintray.com/warpme/macOS-Myt ... -fixes.zip

happy watching!


PS: Maybe useful might be to make make this post sticky....

User avatar
pvr4me
Senior
Posts: 561
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 7:25 pm
Location: near Toronto, Canada
Contact:
Canada

Re: MythTV 29-fixes standalone frontend.app

Post by pvr4me » Tue Aug 08, 2017 6:46 pm

Thanks!

I've very briefly tested your frontend with a test version of 29 running on OS X. I did note, however, that your version seems to suffer the same problems with certain controls in Setup that I saw with the version I built. Details at:

https://code.mythtv.org/trac/ticket/12857#comment:8

And once the problem starts happening, keyboard input stops working in other settings screens. At least until a mouse click somewhere on the screen gets things going temporarily.

Craig
The MacPorts guy.

User avatar
warpme
Translator
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:13 pm
Poland

Re: MythTV 29-fixes standalone frontend.app

Post by warpme » Wed Aug 09, 2017 12:53 pm

I suspect issue is by differently behaving Qt 5.5 in OSX and Linux (as IFAIK issue from #12857 isn't present in Linux platform).
Another possibility is in-proper calling of Qt in some of OSX ifdef sections in mythtv code...
Probably good test will be to switch to newer/different Qt and see.
Maybe someday I'll try this route - but - due many other things (and also many other mythtv related activities) - this is on low priority in my plate ;-p

User avatar
pvr4me
Senior
Posts: 561
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 7:25 pm
Location: near Toronto, Canada
Contact:
Canada

Re: MythTV 29-fixes standalone frontend.app

Post by pvr4me » Thu Aug 10, 2017 11:27 am

warpme wrote:I suspect issue is by differently behaving Qt 5.5 in OSX and Linux (as IFAIK issue from #12857 isn't present in Linux platform).
Another possibility is in-proper calling of Qt in some of OSX ifdef sections in mythtv code...
Probably good test will be to switch to newer/different Qt and see.
Maybe someday I'll try this route - but - due many other things (and also many other mythtv related activities) - this is on low priority in my plate ;-p
Re Qt version, I was running fixes/0.28 - Qt 5.5 when I first reported the error. Still seeing it with fixes/29 - Qt 5.8.0.

I've been trying to methodically test the new MFE settings UI. Tough to find time to walk through ALL the crazy options. After nearly 10 years with Myth, there are still a bunch where I no clue what they are supposed to do. Eg Setup > Audio > Override SRC quality!?

Craig
The MacPorts guy.

Post Reply