Changing IP Address

For discussion of topics specific to MythTV on OSX
Post Reply
NewMacMythTvUser
Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 7:32 pm
Canada

Changing IP Address

Post by NewMacMythTvUser » Sat May 06, 2017 7:30 pm

Hello,
I switched routers and ended up with a new IP address. I ran the myth_setup.app and changed the IP address but the front end cannot connect. Are there any other places I need to change this address? MySql?

I have MacPorts installed.

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 835
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Changing IP Address

Post by bill6502 » Sun May 07, 2017 12:32 am

Did you change both IP addresses (you only mention one.) Look for one
at the bottom of the page for Master IP. You shouldn't need MySQL.

NewMacMythTvUser
Newcomer
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 7:32 pm
Canada

Re: Changing IP Address

Post by NewMacMythTvUser » Sun May 07, 2017 3:44 pm

You are correct. There are two places to change the IP address. Very obvious as well!

I apologize to everybody for wasting time.

User avatar
pvr4me
Senior
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 7:25 pm
Location: near Toronto, Canada
Contact:
Canada

Re: Changing IP Address

Post by pvr4me » Mon May 08, 2017 12:26 pm

No apology necessary--we've all been in the same position!

Craig
The MacPorts guy.

PhilB
Senior
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 6:23 pm
Great Britain

Re: Changing IP Address

Post by PhilB » Mon May 08, 2017 5:16 pm

If the address is dynamic (using DHCP) then the router may allocate a different address after a period of inactivity. You can avoid this failure mode either by giving a static address to your backend or your router may have a setting to freeze the address.

Hth
Phil

Post Reply