HD-PVR2 support (please vote)

For discussion related to MythTV which doesn't belong in another forum.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Would you be willing to pay for HD-PVR2 support?

No
9%
Yes
91%

Total votes: 34

jpoet
Developer
United States of America

HD-PVR2 support (please vote)

Post by jpoet »

I have sent Hauppauge several emails over the last several months asking for development information for the HD-PVR2. I explain that I am a MythTV developer and would like to add support for it. In each case their response has been just a terse "It is still in beta". They don't seem to have any interest in a MythTV developer adding support for the device.

Devin Heitmueller and I ended up talking about the HD-PVR2 recently, and he mentioned that Kernel Labs has had working Linux support for the HD-PVR2 for a couple of years now. Kernel Labs writes drivers and supports video capture devices for the Broadcast/Audio/Video industries:

http://www.kernellabs.com/blog/?page_id=2

They support all the different flavors of the HD-PVR2 (I was not previously aware that there was more than one), and their driver supports all of its various options and controls. Devin says that their HD-PVR2 driver is very robust, and it would have to be to keep their clients happy. He says that the HD-PVR2 is a significant improvement over the HD-PVR including much better audio/video sync.

Long story short, Kernel Labs is willing to consider making their HD-PVR2 driver available for MythTV users. It would not be free, but the price would be a fraction of what they normally charge. Devin would even be willing to write the MythTV code to make it all work.

As a bonus, Devin says that he would do a complete code-audit of MythTV's V4L2 'recorder', optimizing it and removing the cruft that has built up over the years. This should result in improved support for everything from the old PVR-150 to the HVR-2250, as well as the HD-PVR. It might even result in faster channel changing with the HD-PVR.