Newbie simple install walkthrough

For discussion related to MythTV which doesn't belong in another forum.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

headrc
Newcomer
United States of America

Newbie simple install walkthrough

Post by headrc »

Hi …I am a newbie here. I want to set up a spare Macbook Pro as a streaming video DVR which I can use in place of Tivo and I can use to get rid of cable/satellite TV. It seems that MythTv will do this. I have downloaded what I think is a compilation version for Mac OSX. I have installed it and started to set it up. But all I keep getting is the setup screen. I have searched this forum and some others and looked at some Youtube videos and have looked at the walkthrough on Wikipedia. I am not a software coder so a lot of the instructions I find go beyond my current knowledge. I would like to avoid having to become well versed in that part of the computer world right now. Is there anyplace I can get a simple newbie instruction on how to set MythTV up? Of course I am looking for a simple click and install situation, but I am able to go a little deeper than that. But the confusion is really coming in with setting up a database and other things MythTv seems to be requiring.

And just to clarify, the source for all video presently will be over the Internet. I believe that is MythTv is all about but correct me if I am wrong. The short story is I want to record everything I am going to watch in advance because I am in a rural area and my DSL tends to be slow to watch video in real time.

Thanks in advance.
wesnewell
Senior
United States of America

Re: Newbie simple install walkthrough

Post by wesnewell »