[Solved] Switching from Full screen to host desktop

For discussion related to MythTV which doesn't belong in another forum.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
pinnerite
Senior
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:34 pm
Great Britain

[Solved] Switching from Full screen to host desktop

Post by pinnerite » Tue Jun 02, 2020 8:14 pm

I am running Linux Mint 19.2.

In order to be able to switch from MythTV to the Mint desktop, I set the geometry in the command to leave the task-bar visible. This means moving the cursor to minimise the MythTV window.

It works but it means I cannot watch MythTV in full screen mode.

I wondered if there was programmable key point in MythTV that would enable a script to achieve this?

wesnewell
Senior
Posts: 649
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: Wylie TX, USA
United States of America

Re: Switching from Full screen to host desktop

Post by wesnewell » Tue Jun 02, 2020 10:18 pm

I just set the size in setup to 1920x1064 leaving 16 pixels at the top for the task bar at all times. I don't miss those 16 pixels in full screen mode.
BE/FE-Asrock AB350 Pro Ryzen 3 3200G, 6 atsc tuners. FE's-GF8200's Athlon II, Ryzen 3 2200G. Mythtv user since 2005.

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1678
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Switching from Full screen to host desktop

Post by bill6502 » Wed Jun 03, 2020 1:50 am

Does Control-Alt-Up (or Down) Arrow get you a new desktop in Mint?
Or, just the Windows key.

pinnerite
Senior
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:34 pm
Great Britain

Re: Switching from Full screen to host desktop

Post by pinnerite » Wed Jun 03, 2020 12:52 pm

Actually, I did not know about the windows key but I am using a wireless micro keyboard that does not have one.
I currently just keep the task-bar free but it is tricky to negotiate the cursor with the tracker pad hence my need for an alternative method.

pinnerite
Senior
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:34 pm
Great Britain

Re: [SOLVED] Switching from Full screen to host desktop

Post by pinnerite » Wed Jun 03, 2020 2:45 pm

I just gained control of the remote and keyboard and to my delight found that Ctrl-alt-UpArrow was actually easy to work on that tiny keyboard, so problem solved.

Thank you.

Post Reply