Recording Past End Of Show And Consecutive Recordings On Same Channel

For discussion related to MythTV which doesn't belong in another forum.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
urbnsr
Junior
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 11:50 am
United States of America

Recording Past End Of Show And Consecutive Recordings On Same Channel

Post by urbnsr » Mon Jun 10, 2019 2:07 pm

I am using MythTV 29.1:

Is there a way for a recording, which is scheduled to start on the same channel and right after a current recording, to use a different tuner, if available? I would like for more recordings to follow the RecordOverTime setting even if it means two tuners are recording the same data for a few minutes. I have RecordOverTime set to 300 seconds.

I would also like to apply this globally (once) as opposed to going into each current recording schedule and set it's schedule to record past. I don't always know if a new recording might get scheduled after the "shorted" recording has been scheduled. From what I have searched on the forum, I think I understand that I can modify the recording rules template which would automatically apply to newly created templates.

Thanks

User avatar
diyhouse
Senior
Posts: 201
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 9:42 am
Great Britain

Re: Recording Past End Of Show And Consecutive Recordings On Same Channel

Post by diyhouse » Tue Jun 25, 2019 4:00 pm

FYI,.. as I understand Myth TV operation,... when ever a recording is allocated, it is always allocated a new free tuner,.... Just because recordings overlap on the same channel,. Myth will not use that shared channel,... so to say. It will always allocate a single tuner device for each recording rule.
So if you setup several program recordings on the same channel which run consecutively,.. each program will be allocated a different tuner ID,.. it may be a virtual tuner, but none the less a separate tuner for each recording will be allocated.
This ensures integrity of each recording,.. with no inter dependencies,.. as I understand,.. recording multiple streams,.. 5 or 6,.. is not/ should not be a problem for any half decent backend,.. IMHO.
As you say,..if you want to apply a start 5mins earlier,.. and finish 10mins late,.. Edit the default template,... there after any newly setup recordings will take on the new settings,.. but for old recording rules,.. you will need to edit each in turn to reflect your new requirements,.. AFAIK..

urbnsr
Junior
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 11:50 am
United States of America

Re: Recording Past End Of Show And Consecutive Recordings On Same Channel

Post by urbnsr » Mon Jul 01, 2019 9:58 am

I find that when I setup consecutive recordings on the same channel, my mythtv setup only uses one tuner. Is there a setting to control that?

User avatar
heyted
Junior
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 2:14 am
Location: South Florida
Contact:
United States of America

Re: Recording Past End Of Show And Consecutive Recordings On Same Channel

Post by heyted » Tue Jul 02, 2019 1:46 am

In mythtv-setup, under Capture Cards, due you have more than one card listed?
Ted | My blog

User avatar
bill6502
Developer
Posts: 1354
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:28 pm
United States of America

Re: Recording Past End Of Show And Consecutive Recordings On Same Channel

Post by bill6502 » Tue Jul 02, 2019 3:23 pm

If you have multirec enabled (which is the default for some tuners), then this is operating as
designed.

Check in mythtv-setup -> Input connections -> look at each input -> Interaction between inputs ->
Max recordings. This is on v31-Pre and the Steppes theme, but I believe it's true for most versions/
themes.

Note that you can give each one a unique Display name and when looking in Watch Recordings, if you press
I (information) twice, you'll see the Recording Input entry.

If this is the case, then to answer your original question, set Max recordings to 1.

urbnsr
Junior
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 11:50 am
United States of America

Re: Recording Past End Of Show And Consecutive Recordings On Same Channel

Post by urbnsr » Tue Jul 02, 2019 9:14 pm

I have multiple HDHomeRun tuners and find multiple tuners listed under capture cards with each one having their own name. I can see the tuners listed in recordings and upcoming recordings. That's how I am determining that only one tuner is being setup to use when scheduling multiple, sequential recordings.

Max recordings are set to 1.

Thanks for the replies.

Post Reply